RSS

Getting to Uganda: January 2-4

15 Jan

January 2nd, 9:30-ish pm Eastern
I’m on my way to Africa right now.  I’m on an airplane.  Going to Africa.  This is pretty crazy.
I have no idea what time it is.  Or what time zone we’re even in anyway.  It’s cold in this airplane, and there is a huge amount of turbulence.
This has been a good day.  I have to say, our team this time is really cool.  Noah, Brian, Corbett, Tony, Jake, Dad, and me.  When we get to Amsterdam we’ll meet up with Sue and Leenie, and then our team will be complete.
Every time the flight attendants come by, they try to speak Dutch to me.  I guess with the blonde hair and blue eyes, I pretty much look the part.  I think they’re starting to catch on though.
While we were standing in line to check in, a little kid saw Perry the Platypus on my shirt and started a conversation with me.  He saw the guitar on my back and said, “I’m little, so I play a little guitar.  But when I grow up big, I’ll play a big one like yours.”  His name was Shalom, and he couldn’t have been more than five years old.  He asked me if I was ever coming back to this airport so he could see me again.  He was so cute.  I bet he could have fit in my suitcase…
Now, maybe I sleep.  I don’t know.  I am so tired.  In Uganda it’s early in the morning now.  All my babies will be waking up in a little while.
The guy in front of me has his hand draped over the back of the seat, and he has an angry birds bandaid on his pinky.  It’s pretty hardcore.

January 3rd, 11:00 am Amsterdam time
I’m on the airplane again.  This is our second leg of flight.  From Amsterdam to Nairobi.  Almost eight hours.  Then only one more leg, Nairobi to Entebbe, and we will be at our destination country!  Then an hour or two in the van, and we’ll finally be there.  I still can’t quite believe I am going to be back in Uganda again.
Jake and Noah and I are having a grand time in all the airports, messing about and wandering.  Having them along with me this time is making everything even more awesome.

January 4th, 2:30 am Uganda time
I hate airplanes so much.  I just hate them.  But it’s so worth all the miserable plane rides to finally be here.  When we came out of the airport, Pastor Hummer and some others were there waiting for us.  When I saw them, I could have cried.  I ran up to Derrick and gave him the biggest hug.  I missed him like crazy.  He’s gotten so grown up since I last saw him.  He’s gotten a good bit taller, and his voice is all deep and stuff now.  But he’s still just the same as I remember him.
On the ride from the airport to the hotel, I cried.  I stared out the window at my beloved Uganda, and I breathed in that thick familiar scent of Africa, and I cried.  Oh, how I missed this place.
Now I am sprawled on my bed under my mosquito net, utterly exhausted, and probably the happiest person alive.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 15, 2012 in Uganda January 2012

 

One response to “Getting to Uganda: January 2-4

  1. Colette

    January 16, 2012 at 02:41

    your journal writing brings tears to my eyes. thanks for sharing, and going to find your pix, I guess on facebook? Keep up the good works through the Love of Our Lord, Jesus. Hope you didn’t get too many mosquito bites under the net while you slept?

     

Leave a Reply

 
