RSS

Seventy Hours

30 Dec

Tomorrow I start taking my malaria pills.  And maybe start packing.  All week long I’ve been piling up things I might need to bring, moving them to various places throughout my bedroom, rearranging them, making lists, ignoring said lists, moving the piles around some more, and wondering how I’m going to fit nine cases of glasses and two footballs in my suitcase.
But I have yet to actually pack any of these things.  So now it’s time to get this show on the road.

I haven’t been running since the half marathon nearly three weeks ago.  First, I was sore–unbelievably sore.  Then I was sick.  Now I’m just lazy.  But tomorrow, I must go for a run.  I absolutely must.
I also must get Derrick’s guitar ready to go and all of its accessories gathered up.  I so can’t wait to see the look on his face when I tell him that yes, this time I am going to leave it in Uganda for him.  He’ll be thrilled out of his mind.
I also must hang out with my youth group/best friends tomorrow, all night long.  They’re the coolest.  And that’s all I have to say about that.

I love the time leading up to my trips.  It’s so exciting.  I can’t believe this is happening.  What I’m looking forward to the most is giving the guitar to Derrick, and meeting baby Mark (who was probably about the size of a grain of rice last time I was there).  And going back to Busia to see Shadrack and Leonard and Nyangweso and all my Busia babies (hopefully?).

So, needless to say, the next seventy hours can’t pass fast enough.  And then the next thirty-odd hours after that will be spent travelling, which isn’t my favourite part of course, but even unpleasant things like twenty hours in an airplane aren’t so bad when you’re with your friends and going to a place you love.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 30, 2011 in Uganda January 2012

 

One response to “Seventy Hours

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    December 30, 2011 at 22:17

    Oh, how I will miss you…but I am also excited for this opportunity for you to go back to Uganda. I am praying for your health and effectiveness while you are on the ground. And, I’m asking God to enlarge your heart, enlarge your territory, and enlarge your vision of Him. I anticipate that God will do great things in and through you and the team. Godspeed!

     

Leave a Reply

 
