RSS

One Week

26 Dec

One week from now we’ll be on our way to the airport.  From there we’ll fly to Amsterdam, then to Nairobi, then to Entebbe, and I’ll finally be back in my beloved Uganda.
This is all happening so fast.
When life gets as crazy as it’s been for me lately, it’s hard to savour.  Because time flies by without my noticing, and then it’s gone.  I think I should learn from my Ugandan friends’ example and just slow down.  They don’t rush around all stressed out over every little thing.  Heck, they don’t even have wristwatches.  They sit in church for hours and hours, because they want to be there, because they recognise its importance, because they don’t have anywhere else to be.  They sit together and share food.  They cook and clean side by side, enjoying life, living in today and not stressing over tomorrow.
Couldn’t we all stand to learn from them?  Wouldn’t life be nice if we’d slow down every once in a while?

So this week it’s a goal of mine not to rush things.  Sure, I’m itching to get on that plane and get back to Uganda, but the time leading up to the trip is a time of excitement and anticipation, and that’s a feeling that I certainly don’t want to rush.
I’m going to spend time praying, writing, and resting.  I’m going to spend time enjoying friends and family.
I’m going to relax and not worry about how crazy life will become the second I get back to the USA. Because it will.  I’m getting home, diving straight into an 18-credit school semester, getting back to work, and planning for my next big trip, this one being my biggest and scariest yet.  But for now I’m not going to worry about those things.  For now I’m going to focus my time and attention on what matters now.  And what comes afterward can wait.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 26, 2011 in Uganda January 2012

 

Leave a Reply

 
