RSS

You’re not officially a runner until

19 Nov

you run a double-digit run.

I can’t remember who said that…maybe it was a running blog I read, or maybe it was one of my friends on DailyMile.  I don’t know.  But anyway, I read that back when I still considered 3 miles a ‘long run.’  And I said to myself, ‘It would be so cool if I were able to run double digits! Too bad I’ll never be able to.”

Well, today I ran 10 miles.

I woke up at 7:00 on a Saturday morning (now that’s dedication) and bundled up in layer after layer of running clothes to shield me from the 20-degree, windy morning air.
Then I headed out.
The frustrating thing about running is that I am only allowed to run in my neighbourhood.  So I ran the big loop six times and the little loop once.  It was tedious to say the lease, and I don’t do well with tedium.  But Awolnation made a nice soundtrack and kept me somewhat entertained.
So it took me a bit to warm up on the first lap, and I was really slow and had a somewhat old-person-ish stride at first.  But by the time I finished the first 1.5-mile lap, complete with all the killer hills, I’d warmed up enough to shed my outer layer of clothes, and my stride was a little smoother.
Of course, by the end of the run I had reverted back to the old-person stride again.  Actually, to call it old-person-ish is being a little too generous…it was more of a waddle.  I was in so much pain.
But it felt so good!  Why do I so love to torture myself like this?

The longest I’d ever run before today was 6 miles.  So 10 was really pushing it.  It took everything out of me.  By the middle of the tenth mile I was seriously beginning to wonder if my legs were physically capable of carrying me the rest of the way.
They were, of course.  The body is capable of so much more than we give it credit for.
I hadn’t really, truly pushed myself in quite a while.  So it felt good to do it today.  On a perceived effort scale of 1 to 5, I’d rate it at about a million.  But it was awesome.

My tendinitis is coming back.  At least, I think that’s what it is…It sure feels like it, a dull, achy pain and tenderness on my Achilles tendon right above my heel.  I’d had this same problem a couple of months ago, but then it cleared up…until today.
So I don’t know what it is or what to do about it.  It might just be fatigue from running such a distance.  I really hope that’s all it is.  But it hurts.

So anyway, I’m officially a real runner now.  I’m pretty happy about this.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 19, 2011 in Running

 

Leave a Reply

 
