RSS

Posho, Mosquito Nets, and Falling in Love

05 Nov

Possible title for my NaNo novel?  I like the sound of it, but I’m not a hundred percent sure that it really fits with the mood and subject matter of my novel.  But for the time being, that title will have to do.  Maybe I’ll find another, or maybe that one will end up being just right.  I’ll keep you posted.

A lot of my novel is based off of real experiences, which means that I’m having the time of my life writing it.  So many memories come flooding back as I figure out how to put Uganda into words.  To read about my real experiences, go here.
So now I’ll let you read my synopsis.  Again, it’s subject to change as the story goes on, but I needed at least some idea of where I want to take the story.  So here it is:

Emma Fahrenheit is a young nurse who wants to use her medical skills for something bigger than herself. She has always dreamed of becoming a foreign missionary, and she feels that there would be no better time to do it than now that she’s finished school but hasn’t yet settled down to have a family.
So Emma quits her job, packs her suitcase, and boards a plane to Uganda, where she is greeted by harsh poverty, stifling sickness, violence, addiction, and despair. She learns to live like a Ugandan: sleeping under a mosquito net, eating corn meal paste for every meal, and bathing in a washtub (if she’s lucky enough to bathe at all). But despite Emma’s struggle to adjust to the difficult living conditions, she quickly falls in love with her new home and the people she works with at her tiny medical clinic in the middle of nowhere.

Emma is living her dream and simply couldn’t be happier–until one day when she is faced with a patient who will change her life forever. His name is Musaazi, and he’s on the brink of death when he stumbles into the clinic. It’s obvious that he came seeking help for a severe case of meningitis, which Emma confidently helps to treat, but on closer examination Emma finds that he’s also suffering from malaria and highly advanced AIDS. In fact, Emma is amazed that he’s still alive with his body in that condition.
Despite the dismal knowledge that there isn’t much that Emma can do for Musaazi, she works tirelessly to help him heal as well as his frail body can–and finds herself falling in love with him in the process.

Cheesy?  Maybe.  But I think it has the potential to turn into a really good novel.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 5, 2011 in NaNoWriMo 2011

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
