RSS

NaNoWriMo Day 4

04 Nov

So NaNoWriMo started on Tuesday…and so far it’s been going really well.  Monday night I stayed up till midnight, and as soon as it was officially Tuesday I hammered out about 1300 words before dropping into bed.
Then on Tuesday afternoon between classes I met up with four other people from school who are doing NaNo, and we wrote for an hour, during which I hit the 3000 mark.  Then that night after work I made it to 5000, which had been my goal for the first day.
Wednesday I had intended to write a couple thousand words between school and work, but ended up going to lunch with my lab partner instead and only managed to write about a thousand that afternoon.  Wrote a couple hundred that night as well, putting me somewhere in the six thousands.
Then last night was super productive; I just sat down and wrote and wrote until my brain was fried, and I ended up with 8555 as my wordcount.  Not bad for three days.
Today I haven’t written yet, as I slept in till 11 (haven’t done that in forever!) and haven’t gotten around to writing yet.  But I’m likely going to hit 10K, hopefully more, and if it’s possible I’d like to have 15K by the end of the weekend.  Not sure about that one, but I’ll aim for it.

NaNo has been a lot harder this year that it was in the past, because now I’m a full-time college student and have a job, so I leave the house at 8 in the morning, come home between 9 and 10 at night, and then still have homework.  So between all that, finding time to write has been hard.
But I squeeze it in between classes and whenever I have downtime, and I have had to pull a late night or two, but I’m plugging along and having a lot of fun with it.  I think my novel’s got potential, and I’m looking forward to seeing where it takes me.

I also changed the synopsis from what I posted earlier.  As I was planning for that synopsis, I realised that it just wasn’t going to get me very far.  So I rewrote it into something I know a bit more about, and am more interested in: medicine.
I’m not going to get into the details right now, as I’ve already written enough here and need to get back to writing the novel.  But I’ll leave you with some stats to show my progress:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 4, 2011 in NaNoWriMo 2011, Writing

 

Leave a Reply

 
