RSS

How’s this for a tentative synopsis?

14 Oct

So…it’s NaNoWriMo time again.  At midnight on November first I’ll write the first word of my novel, and I’ll have until 11:59 on November thirtieth to finish it.  50,000 words.  30 days.
It’s all I can do not to start writing rightnow.  So today I busied myself with beginning my character sketches and writing a synopsis.
You can read the synopsis below, and as I get my characters further developed I might do a couple of posts about them as well.

Participant2_180_180_white

Garrett and Emma Saddler want children more than anything, so when Emma learns that she’s infertile, the young couple is devastated. Emma simply can’t come to terms with the fact that she’ll never be a mother, so she and Garrett decide to look into adopting.

Misanyah is an orphaned girl of about twelve, with an unknown past and a dark future ahead of her unless somebody steps in soon. She suffers from AIDS and malaria, and those illnesses will surely kill her if she doesn’t die of starvation first. At night she tosses and turns with dreadful nightmares of a past that she can’t remember, and during the day she hides herself away, imagining danger behind every corner.

The moment Emma lays eyes on young Misanyah, she knows that she has finally found her long-awaited daughter. But can Emma and Garrett work their way into Misanyah’s life and earn her trust, or is the girl’s heart scarred beyond repair? And as Misanyah grows sicker and weaker with every passing day, can Emma and Garrett cope with the knowledge that they’re falling in love with a child who is living on borrowed time?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 14, 2011 in NaNoWriMo 2011

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “How’s this for a tentative synopsis?

  1. Neeks

    October 14, 2011 at 20:19

    Wow that sounds fantastic. I wish I had the guts to do nano, but I just don’t have enough to say…yet. Maybe next year…Good Luck!

     

Leave a Reply

 
