RSS

Costa Rica Day Eight: 30 July

08 Aug

11:39 a.m.
Hosea.  Hosea Hosea Hosea.  Why have I never noticed what a stunningly gorgeous book Hosea is?  I read it this morning and it made me cry, right here in this airplane.  I mean, that book spells out in poetic yet perfectly blunt words just how sinful and fallen we are, how we choose to be spiritual prostitutes, how we reject God constantly, how we are lost and broken and messed up.
But at the same time, it spells out just as clearly the love of God for us.  How he wants us to come back to him, how it pains him to see us doing this to ourselves. How his heart aches with compassion for us.
As I was reading it, I thought of Los Anonos.  Julie H showed me some passages in Hosea that sum up the place where Anonos is at right now, how badly they need God, and how badly he wants them to leave their idols behind and come back to him.  It’s like God is talking directly to them.
Anyway, this morning I got up at 3:40 a.m, and Kevin and Mochis were there!  I was flabbergasted when I saw them standing in the street outside the house; they could have slept for like 5 more hours but instead they came to say goodbye!
I didn’t cry when I said goodbye.  I usually do, but today I haven’t yet.  I have a feeling the tears are just waiting to spill over, but so far I’ve held it together.  Maybe because Jake will be waiting at home and I’m excited to see him after 6 weeks apart.  Or maybe because I know I’ll be back to Costa Rica again sometime soon.  But whatever the reason, saying goodbye wasn’t as gut-wrenchingly hard as I thought it might.  I’m glad for that.

11:51 p.m.
So tired.  Been up for over 20 hours.  Need sleep.
So I made it through almost the whole day without crying, but now I am.  I miss Costa Rica a ton.
Jake is home, though, which is good.
Also, the airline lost Dad’s and my bags, so we will hopefully be getting them back tomorrow I guess.
I’m sad.
But I’ll be back.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 8, 2011 in Costa Rica July 2011

 

Leave a Reply

 
