RSS

Costa Rica Day One: 23 July

31 Jul

10:45 a.m.
On the airplane.  It’s the second leg of our flight, we just left Houston, and will be arriving in Costa in about three hours or so.It’s funny, I was thinking earlier about my trips to Asia and Africa, and how long and miserable the

plane rides were, and how short and easy this trip is by comparison.  This feels like a trip to the grocery store compared to the 20+ hours of flying required to get to the other places I go!
Whenever I see a plane go by above me, I always imagine where it’s going and I always wish I was on it, going somewhere I love.  But today I am!

It’s unreal that this is happening.  In a matter of a few hours I’ll be back in the place that first stole my heart.  This is a big deal.I can’t wait to introduce Julie and Tovah to my Ticos!  I get to have my best USA friends and my best Costa Rica friends all together at one time!  This is as good as it gets.

6:00 p.m.
We’re here!  There is nothing in the world that could make me happier.  I’m sitting in the hammock rocking gently, hearing the sounds of Costa Rica and feeling the lazy breeze.
When we got here, Kevin was already here so I got to say hi to him and I was so happy to see him!  Then a few of us went down and visited the new church and the thrift store, and I remembered why I love this place so much.
Then when we came home, Tito was here!  I have him a great big hug and, like always, made fun of him for wearing too much cologne.  “Tito huele dulce como una flor!”  We laughed and laughed.  I didn’t realise how much I missed him until now!  I’m so glad to be back.
A lot has changed around here, that’s for sure.  The view from the HH balcony looks a lot different than I remember.  So much was washed away by flooding and landslides last fall.  You can see the difference in the photo below.
But one thing that hasn’t changed is the big cross on the highest mountain.  I can look out across the devastation and see that cross, still standing.  Just like Jesus’ love for us, that cross is not moved, no matter how messed-up things get down below.

9:00 p.m.
Tonight was wonderful.  We went to the church and just spent time doing music and worshipping, and it was so good.  I also got to see Nanis again, which made me super happy.  Now I just need to see Pipo and Luis, which will hopefully happen tomorrow morning.
Listening to the Los Anonos youth singing their hearts out tonight, on their knees, praying and worshipping, gave me so much hope.  I love to see that despite all of the violence and wickedness that they’re surrounded by, they still put their faith in Jesus.  They still love Him and want to follow Him.  And I think that they have a lot of potential to make a difference in their community and beyond.
Tonight warmed my heart and I think it was the perfect start to an awesome trip!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 31, 2011 in Costa Rica July 2011

 

One response to “Costa Rica Day One: 23 July

  1. Colette-ABINA

    August 1, 2011 at 05:12

    thank you for sharing your experience; and that the cross still stands! Vaya con Dios! ❤

     

Leave a Reply

 
