RSS

What If

22 Jul

What if everything’s changed?  What if everyone is different?  What if I’m different?  What if Los Anonos is different?

It is.  We are.  It has.  I know that things have changed since last time I went to Costa Rica.  I know it.  But I’m nervous to see just how much has changed.  Just how different things are.  I don’t know quite what to expect this time.

Some of the changes will be good ones.  And I’m excited to see those.  But some of the changes will be hard ones.  And I’m nervous.

This trip is going to be waaaay different than any other trip, and for a number of reasons.  Nervous nervous nervous.  Excited.

Mixed feelings.  I don’t even know what I’m feeling right now.  Maybe I’m feeling so many different feelings that they’re all mixing together and becoming indistinguishable.  I can’t quite tell.

Leaving our house in seven hours.  Leaving the meeting place in 10.5 hours.  Leaving the airport in 14 hours.  It’s so strange to think that I’ve been waiting for this for one year, four months, and twenty-two days…and it’ll be over in a week.

But that’s okay.  Because this week is going to be amazing.

I won’t be doing internet much while I’m gone, so I’ll be out of contact until at least July 30th at the earliest. I’ll probably end up doing like I did for Africa and Asia, and just post my journal entries here on Love Letters once I get home, so you can read all about the trip then.

 

2 responses to “What If

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    July 22, 2011 at 15:13

    Everything has changed, it’s true. Los Anonos has changed, the people have changed, you have changed. Yet, there is One Who remains the same yesterday, today, and forever. Hold fast to Him!

    God is not man, that he should lie,
    or a son of man, that he should change his mind.
    Has he said, and will he not do it?
    Or has he spoken, and will he not fulfill it? Numbers 23:19

    For I the LORD do not change; therefore you, O children of Jacob, are not consumed. Malachi 3:6

    Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change. James 1:17

    Praying for you as you return to your beloved Costa Rica. May God exceed your expectations as you reunite with your brothers and sisters there.

     
  2. Diane

    July 22, 2011 at 15:43

    What a neat mom you have Shannon! And what a neat girl you are. Looking forward to reading/hearing about the trip. Love and prayers – Diane.

     

Leave a Reply

 
