RSS

It’s been a while

08 Jul

Since I’ve last posted.  Sorry about that.  I’ve been gone so much lately that I just haven’t had time.

Now I’m here, finally updating my blog…the only problem is that I don’t know what to write.  I guess I’ll just do a quick, incoherent update sort of post.

I got to go to Kentucky!  I was thinking the other day about how I’ve nearly been to more foreign countries than I’ve been to states in my own country.  I’ve set foot in nine different countries (eleven if you count the ones that I’ve only been to the airport in) and yet I’d only been in ten different states before the trip to Kentucky.
I would love to see more of the USA some day.  I want to go to the Grand Canyon, and see the giant redwood trees, and see Mount Rushmore, and hike the Appalachian trail in more states than just Virginia.  There’s so much I haven’t seen!
Anyway, back to Kentucky.  We visited with a good friend, Travis, and had an awesome time just hanging out with him.  He took us to some of his favourite places like a little Christian bookstore, the best Thai restaurant ever, and the zoo.  We had a lot of fun.
We also dropped my brother off in Louisville, because he’s travelling with Lift Ministries this summer, staffing camps in five different states.  So he’s gone now, and I miss him a ton, but he’ll be back in the end of this month.

Then the week after, I went to Lift Camp in Lynchburg, VA, with the most awesome youth group ever in the world.  We had a hugely fun time, and I got to see my brother as he was on staff there.  I met new friends, got to see some old friends, played guitars, took lots of photos, learned more about God, and just had an all-around awesome week.
Oh yeah, and one of my good friends proposed (: It was pretty awesome.

So that was the week in a nutshell.

Then I came home, spent the weekend at home, faceplanted while running, faceplanted while jumping off a swing into a lake, learned to do a backflip into the water, and decided I want to purchase a loop pedal for my guitar.
Then I spent this week at my grandparents’ house in Stafford, VA, and I was able to go in and volunteer at the veterinary clinic for a couple of days (actually I thought I was volunteering, but -surprise- I got paid!  There’s the money I need to buy that loop pedal!)

Now I’m home, and my life is back to normal.  For a few days, anyway.  It’s only fifteen days until I leave for Costa Rica, which I’m super excited about.  I’ve been counting down since there were 125 days, and now there are 15!  I’m soooo excited.  I’ve been waiting for this for a year and a half, and here it is!

Please be praying for our team as we prepare to go.  We’ve still got a lot of work to do before we’re ready for the trip, and not very much time to do it!  Most of the people on this trip are first-timers to foreign missions, and for some it’s their first time leaving the country at all.  I love bringing new people on trips!
So anyway, that’s all.  I hope everyone is having a great summer!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 8, 2011 in Ramblings About Nothing

 

Leave a Reply

 
