RSS

Being Fifteen

17 Jun

Was the best year of my life.  I can’t believe that so much happened over the course of one short year!  I fell in love with new countries and new cultures, I made new friends, I finished high school, I learned about God, about myself, and about life.  I feel like today I am a different person than I was a year ago.

So my birthday yesterday was bittersweet.  I didn’t really want to let go of being fifteen, but at the same time I know that being sixteen is going to be another amazing year!  God has so much planned for me, and I’m excited to dive in!
I think that this year is going to be one of the most influential years of my life.  The decisions that I make this year will shape the rest of my life.  I’m going to college, learning to drive, getting a job, doing lots of travelling.  Everything in my life is changing right now, nothing is certain, and I’m going to have some huge decisions to make.  It’s rather daunting, really.  I’m a little nervous.
But I’m trusting God to guide me in the direction he wants me to go.  Psalm 37:4 says, “Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.”  At first glance, that verse seems to say that if I love God, he’ll give me anything and everything I want.  But after thinking about it for a while, I realise what it really means: as I delight myself in Him, His desires will become my desires.  I’ll begin to want what He wants.  And when our desires match, that’s when mine will be granted.
It’s not saying that if I ask for a million dollars, God will give it to me.  It means that if I am seeking God’s face and striving to glorify Him, I will live the fullest, brightest, most fun and exciting life I could ask for–because following Him is the adventure of a lifetime.

 

One response to “Being Fifteen

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    June 17, 2011 at 11:15

    Ah, yes, Grasshopper.

     

Leave a Reply

 
