RSS

Featured Profile: Pipo (Courtesy of Julie Herrmann)

14 May

Okay, so in preparation for our upcoming trip to Costa Rica this summer, I’ve decided that it would be really cool to tell you all about some of the wonderful people we’ll be working alongside while we’re there.  Julie Herrmann, a long-termer with Harvest Hands, has very kindly let me re-blog her interviews with the guys so that my readers can get to know them too, and be praying for them.  You can see the original post, along with other news and insights, at her blog: http://mylifeintupperware.blogspot.com/
Her first interview was with my good friend Pipo.  Enjoy!

Real name: Marvin Barboza Muñoz
Nickname: Pipo (from a word meaning “lollipop”)
Birthday: March 3
Age: 20
Siblings: 2 sisters
Current occupation: looking for work

Favorite song: How He Loves (John Mark McMillan/Kim Walker)
Favorite food: shrimp
Favorite color: pink (I think he was teasing me)
Favorite story in the Bible: Job
Favorite body part: My hair
If you could change something about yourself, what would it be?
My mouth. I just don’t like it.
If you could have three wishes, what would they be?
1. To be handsome
2. $$$$$
3. To be able to help the poor
How long have you been coming to the Viña (the Vineyard church)?
About 2 years.
How did you hear about it?
From either Dago or Tito, I don’t really remember

This is Pipo with a popi (lollipop).
It’s part of my nickname.
I got my nickname because I really like sweets.
What do you want to do in life?
Be a missionary to Africa.
And work in medical forensics like on CSI. 🙂
How did you get your characteristic scar on your face?
I fell from a Cas tree when I was a kid.
But I could make up a different story if that’s not interesting enough for you.
If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you want to live?
The States.
Maybe Las Vegas.
If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?
I would start in the States. I would go to Maine, Virginia, Ohio, and Michigan.
I would visit all the churches of all the teams that come down here.
Then I would go to Africa.
Maybe I would stop by Australia, too.
What would you like to say to the people reading your interview?
“Hello and bye bye”
(he said that in English….)
If you could ask for anything, what would you ask for?
Help going to Africa.
And people to go with to Africa
What is your favorite part about living in Anonos?
My friends.
What is the most important thing in your life?
God.
So that’s Pipo (:
Okay, can I just say that when I read that he wants to go to Africa, I just about had a heart attack.  That just makes me so happy that he and I have that in common.  I pretty much smiled all day after I read that (: It’s so cool when God does stuff like that…maybe one day I’ll bring Pipo with me 😉
Check back regularly, because I’ll be posting more interviews like this one if you’re interested.  You can subscribe to be automatically notified of new posts via email–just enter your email address in the blank on the sidebar labelled “Subscribe.”
Oh, and don’t forget to check out Julie Herrmann’s blog! http://mylifeintupperware.blogspot.com/
 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2011 in Costa Rica July 2011

 

2 responses to “Featured Profile: Pipo (Courtesy of Julie Herrmann)

  1. Jonathon Weakley

    May 14, 2011 at 17:11

    Great interview and share Shannon. I am excited to meet Pipo and others who God puts in our path. Thanks for keeping us in mind.

     
  2. Terri Whiddon

    May 17, 2011 at 15:58

    Thank you, Shannon! I am so excited to be a part of this team! I am looking so forward to meeting Pipo and others. I can’t wait to see what our God has in store.

     

Leave a Reply

 
