RSS

It’s been 36 days

13 Apr

of drinking nothing but water.  And I have only ten more days left in this challenge; soon I’ll be able to have a tall glass of milk and a cup of tea–the two things I’ve been craving most over the past several weeks.

Today I’m thinking about how I’ve been complaining about not being able to have a glass of milk with dinner like the rest of my family, or a drink of juice with my morning cereal.  I’ve been making an effort not to complain out loud, and I’ve done a pretty good job of that (mostly), but it’s those silent complaints in my head that are bothering me.

Who am I to complain about having to drink water, when there are 1.1 billion people in this world who don’t have that luxury?  People die every day because they don’t have enough water, or they don’t have safe water–but I have all the clean water I could want right here at my fingertips and I choose to complain about it?

Something’s wrong here.

So for these final ten days, I’m going to make an extra effort to be thankful for my water.  Every time I crave some other drink, I’m going to take another drink of my water and thank God for it.

Not surprisingly, it’s gotten much easier to resist those temptations with every day that passes.  At the beginning of this challenge, it was all I could do to resist, but now, as I’m nearing the end of the challenge, I’m finding that I don’t want those things that much anymore.  I mean, I’d definitely love to have a drink of something that has any flavour at all, but I’m realising that water is sufficient for my body to function, and anything else I drink is unnecessary.
Now, I’m not saying that other drinks are bad, per se, but I’m just saying that I only need water–I don’t need any other drink.

But that’s not going to stop me from having a giant vat of tea as soon as this challenge is over.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 13, 2011 in Travelling/Missions

 

One response to “It’s been 36 days

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    April 13, 2011 at 14:30

    Shannon, you are doing an awesome job with this challenge. I haven’t heard you complain and I have seen you exercise great self-discipline when faced with temptation. You make me proud, my Sweet, and I am so happy for the lessons God is teaching you and how you are applying them to your life. You are an exceptional young lady.

     

Leave a Reply

 
