RSS

Swaziland Trip – Days 18, 19, 20, and 21 (January 30th -Feb 2)

17 Feb

These entries are all pretty short, so I’m going to post the last four all in one post.

Sunday, January 30th 11:30 p.m.

I love these kids.  I love them.  I love them I love them.
This morning we went to church and it was really great and nice.  I love visiting other churches, but I really do miss the Summit.  One week from today I’ll be back.
Then we went to EMK to see the orphans.  We played guitar and sang and took pictures and I painted the girls’ nails.  When I took the polish out of my bag, the girls all screamed and flocked around me and it was so precious.  They loved it.
I’m going to miss those kids.
So that’s all I have to say tonight.  I’m tired and ready to come home.  But coming home is not going to be easy, I’m certain of that.

Monday January 31st, 8:02 p.m.

I said goodbye again.  I am going to miss my kids so much!
I wish that I could bring my kids home with me.  All 70-odd of them.  Or maybe I wish I could bring my friends and family to my kids.  Yes, I like that idea better.  I wish that I could share Uganda and Swaziland with everyone back home.  Because words just can’t describe everything that Africa is to me…you have to experience it for yourself to know why I love it so much.
But I’ve done the best I can, and I hope you’ve enjoyed reading about my trip.

Tuesday, February 1st, 7:36 p.m.

I am so ready to be home.  But I really don’t know what to feel right now, because as much as I’m ready to come home, it is so hard.
Today we have already been travelling for a very long time, and we’re not even nearly done yet…Dad and I rode for five hours in the back of a pickup truck to the Johannesburg airport, which was a very interesting experience, especially with Louie driving!  Now we’ve been sitting here for a few hours…Samantha and Tony’s flight left a long time ago…Our plane leaves at 9:45, and we’re flying to London, which is an 11-hour flight.  Then we’ll spend all day and one night in London before flying 9 hours to Washington DC on Thursday.  Then we’ll drive the two hours home.  So from the time we left Emafini in Swaziland to the time I set foot in my house in Virginia will be a grand total of about 62 hours of travel time.
I really dislike going on airplanes.  I’m not afraid of them, I just simply don’t like them.  I feel like the next 62 hours could be spent in a better way than sitting in a chair in the sky.  I will be SO glad when all this flying and driving is over…but I will miss Uganda and Swaziland with all my heart.  I’m so torn, because every moment spent in the airplane will bring me farther and farther from Africa, but closer to home.  And I don’t know how to feel about that.

February 2nd, Wednesday, 7:00 p.m.

I want to go home.  But I miss Uganda and Swaziland so much!  I love London a lot, but not right now.  I mean, it’s a great place and maybe one day I’ll come back here, but right now I want nothing more than to get on the plane and go home.
I do like London, though…it’s my kind of place.  I want to come back one day and stay for a while.
Well, I’m immensely thankful for the past three weeks.  I feel like I could cry.  My heart is so full of gratitude and love and happiness, and also sadness.  But I’m thankful for every emotion I’m feeling right now.  I don’t know what to do with myself…I’m an emotional mess.
And I’m slightly frustrated because, I mean, I’m in London!  I’ve always wanted to come here, and now that I’m actually here all I’m doing is sleeping and wishing I was in Africa or the USA.  I could be out exploring and stuff, but instead I’m nursing a cup of tea and lying in bed sorting through memories of Africa.
But one day, when I come back to London, I’ll explore every inch of it.  Just not right now.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 17, 2011 in Africa January 2011

 

Leave a Reply

 
