RSS

Swaziland Trip – Days 16 and 17 (January 28th and 29th)

12 Feb

“I’m left gritting my teeth and holding back tears when I look at pictures of children begging, holding out their hand and asking for just a little bit of compassion. Asking for a little bit of caring and consideration. Asking to be remembered in our thoughts when we spend our time and money on things we don’t really need….
I don’t know how to live a dramatically different lifestyle. But I’m learning. I don’t know how to live a life where all my actions are selfless. But I’m making an effort.”  —Raam Dev

I got that in an email from one of the blogs I’ve been following…and I just wanted to share it.

Anyway, here are my journal entries.

Friday, January 28th 9:45 p.m.

I am constantly amazed by how utterly stunning this country is!  It’s like nothing I’ve ever seen before.  God really outdid himself here.  The weather was nice today, warm and breezy, and the sky was just filled with white fluffy clouds.  This afternoon we heard thunder, but it never really turned into a real storm, which was a slight disappointment…I was craving a big giant thunderstorm.
So today we got to see a few of the orphans.  The ride up there was pretty great; Dad and Samantha and I were in these bench seats in the back of the pickup truck, and the road was terrible (but awesome), and once when Tom slammed on the brakes, I got plastered against the back window and Sam went flying into my lap, and Tom and Tony just looked back at us from the front seat and laughed.  And then on the ride back home we had seven people back there and thankfully there was no brake slamming, or else I would have ended up on the lap of the guy next to me.
But the children at the orphanage were beautiful and sweet.  They just attached themselves to me instantly.  They were a bit more rowdy than the Uganda ones, but precious just the same.
I cried myself to sleep last night over missing Uganda, and I have a feeling that I’ll do it again tonight.  I just wish there was some way that I could be both places at once.  I think that Uganda is becoming my passion.  I feel about Uganda the way I feel about Costa Rica.  And that’s a big deal, for those of you who don’t know how I feel about Costa Rica.  I love it with my whole heart, and think about it constantly, and pray for it, and miss it so much that it hurts…now I feel that way about Uganda too.
Tonight we had dinner with a guy named John, and he was from Uganda but has lived in Swaziland for about two years now.  It was so good to meet him and talk about Uganda a bit.
Well, I guess I’ve got nothing else to say right now…so goodnight!

January 29th Saturday, 9:45 p.m.

I miss Uganda.  So much.
I loved this day, though.  We went to EMK orphanage and had church with the orphans.  I got to meet the rest of the ones that were at school when we visited yesterday.  I’m happy because some of them are around my age and they’ve taken to me right away.  Every single one of them can sing beautifully and they’re amazing to watch.  And so gorgeous.  I love them.
They absolutely adored my guitar.  They sat with me and I played for them and some of the older girls were learning to sing the songs that I played!  The sound of their sweet voices and adorable accents singing our songs was just priceless.
There are five kids that I’m going to adopt.  Their names are Mpendulo,  Bongekile, Zandile, Simphiwe, and Phendulile.  The first three are brother and sisters, and they’re the most beautiful, sweetest kids in the world.  Mpendulo is about 15 probably, and the exact opposite of his sisters–he’s painfully shy and I could hardly even get him to talk, and I guess that’s one of the reasons I like him so much.
And then Bongekile is 16 and she’s very friendly and sweet and fun to be around.
Zandile is probably around 12, and she’s stinking adorable!  SO cute!  And she can sing beautifully.
Phendulile is 13 or 14, and slightly more shy, but still very friendly and very smart.  She caught onto my songs right away and has one of the most beautiful voices I’ve ever heard.
And last but not least, Simphewe.  She’s probably 15 or 16, and very outgoing and slightly crazy, but really wonderful.  I loved her.
Of course I’d love to adopt all 70 of the children at EMK orphanage, but that’s not exactly realistic…so I narrowed it down to five.  I’ll put up pictures of them at the end of this post…I don’t have a picture of Bongekile, which makes me want to cry, but I have one of the other four and I’ll post them in the order that they were mentioned.

Mpendulo

Zandile

Phendulile

Simphiwe

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 12, 2011 in Africa January 2011

 

One response to “Swaziland Trip – Days 16 and 17 (January 28th and 29th)

  1. priscilla flory

    February 16, 2011 at 09:12

    Hi, Sugar, The children ask about you, what shall I tell them?

    I can’t wait to see you and to share all that has happened which would take waaaaay to long for here.

    Much love,
    Priscilla

     

Leave a Reply

 
