RSS

Uganda Trip – Days 12 and 13 (January 24th and 25th)

08 Feb

January 24th 6:45 p.m. Monday

We’re back in Kampala.  It’s been a long day of riding in the van, but this time it was much less squished and much better.
We ate lunch on a gorgeous balcony overlooking Lake Victoria, and it was wonderful.  And I taught (well, at least I tried to teach) Derrick how to play tic tac toe and it was hilarious.  He was so funny!
Then we finished the drive to Kampala and got settled in our rooms, and then Derrick and his sisters Mercy and Esther just made themselves at home in my room for like 2 hours!  Esther is so cute, she’s about 2 or 3, and Mercy is I think 6.  Anyway, they played my guitar and we danced and laughed and it was so much fun.
I am SO TIRED of coughing and Sue says I sound like (and I quote) “A dead duck in a dying thunderstorm.”
The waiter was just taking our drink orders, and this is how the dialogue went.
Me: “Can I have a glass of milk?”
Him: “What?”
Me: “Milk.”
Him: “Milk?”
Me: “Yes, milk.”
Him: “In a glass?”
Me: “Yes, please.”  (Thinking: no, I just want it straight from the udder.)
So I don’t really know why I bothered to include that in my journal entry…I just found it hilarious for some unknown reason.

9:30 p.m. I am so sick.  I am very frustrated that this had to happen now instead of waiting till I get home, or better yet just not happening at all. Because I’m miserable.  Physically, of course…emotionally I feel amazingly happy and wonderful, but physically I’m finding it very difficult to keep going, when all I want to do is curl up and sleep forever.  I am so thankful for God’s strength, because he’s the only thing that’s keeping me going.
There is not a single muscle in my body that is not completely worn out from a week of coughing.  But that won’t stop me from being 100% happy to be here!  I absolutely adore this place!

January 25, Tuesday, 6:37 p.m.

Today was wonderful!  I got to help out with pharmacy for the med clinic and I loved it!  I’ve never gotten to do pharmacy before at all, not even in China, so I had to learn how, but it was just great!  It’s my new favorite job.  And Derrick helped me; he was absolutely wonderful and I loved working with him and there was no way I could have done it without him.
We ate some peanuts at Derrick’s family’s house this morning, because to eat at someone’s house is to give them blessings.  They are such a beautiful family: Pastor Hummer, Alice, Derrick, Calvet, Barbara, Mercy, and Esther.  I love them and will miss them TERRIBLY.
Today I feel absolutely sick.  This is the worst I’ve felt this whole time.  I was going to take some of the cough medicine from the clinic, but we gave it all away today.  I am weak and shaky and my ribs just ache from coughing, and my throat is tight and my chest hurts.  I had a nice long cry just a minute ago and I feel somewhat better, but I just wish I could be well.  But still, as bad as I feel, I wish we didn’t have to leave tomorrow.  I wish I could stay here forever and ever.  But I also miss my family and friends at home a lot too.
Anyway, here’s a picture of Pastor Hummer and his family.

This is somewhat unrelated to my journal entry, but today I was thinking about one of my friends in Swaziland, and he inspired me to write a song.  It is FAWM season, after all.  So here it is.

On the other side of the world
On the top bunk of his bed
He crawls under the blanket
And lays down his weary head
He knows his days are numbered
And his time is slipping by
At fifteen years old, he already knows
That it’s a miracle he’s still alive

Every single moment is one step closer to his end
When he shuts his eyes he fears he’ll never open them again

What if that were you?
Would you live life any differently?
Would you live out loud, seize today
Because tomorrow isn’t guaranteed
Would you show some love, lend a hand
Make a difference, take a stand
Would you make a change, take a chance,
Live every day like it’s your last?

Take your life and make it count
Don’t put it off another day
Your life is your most precious gift
Don’t let it go to waste

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 8, 2011 in Africa January 2011, FAWM

 

Leave a Reply

 
