RSS

Uganda Trip – Days 6 and 7 (January 18th and 19th)

05 Feb

Tuesday, January 18th 4:00 p.m.

Day 2 of med clinic: done.  Thank you, God.  I am 100% spent right now.  But the clinic was about a billion times easier today than it was yesterday.  We saw 118 people!  I didn’t know that we were capable of that!  Well, of course, it was all because of God that we were able to.  Last night when I went to bed, I didn’t think that I would be able to do it all again today.  But I was able, because God is able.  Now it’s time to leave for the crusade.

8:35 p.m. Power is out.  I’ll be having my shower cold tonight.

A minute ago I was outside dancing to some groovy Africa music, just messing around with Leenie, and Nyangweso the waiter saw me and said something in his language, and then Shadrack the bartender said “he says you are dancing very good,” and they both laughed, and I laughed, but really I was very glad for the power being out because it was too dark to see me blush…haaaha (:

Tonight I will write a letter for each person on my team and slide them under their doors.  Dave did that in Costa in March and it was very fun and encouraging and just a good idea, so I’m going to do it too.

Now Leenie and I are going to practice our eye doctor stuff for tomorrow.  Then I’ll go to bed, because I’m exhausted and my back is hurting more than usual.

I’m so happy to be here!!

Me and my sexy scrubs 😉

Wednesday January 19th 4:30 p.m.

Eye doc clinic was today!  Leenie and I handled all of the exams ourselves, which terrified me at first but it was actually quite easy!

I think it’s about to storm.

Zack is sick today, and I feel so bad for him.  He got sick last night, and today he says he feels better, but he isn’t eating and is sleeping now, and he just doesn’t look good.  I’ve been praying for him.

Today Sue told me that I am the definition of flexibility, and I took that as a huge compliment!  I’m so thrilled that she would think that!

Today I examined the eyes of an 83-year-old man, and he was the oldest person I’ve seen so far.  He was adorable!  And he accepted Christ, which is awesome (:

I think I just felt a raindrop, so I’m going inside now.

9:00 p.m. I’m struggling tonight.  I felt really sick this morning, and all day I’ve just been coughing and coughing constantly.  I don’t know if it’s the dust in the air or what, but I’d like to stop coughing now.  And then you pile that on top of three long days of hard work, dehydration, not getting enough sleep at night, and having my heart constantly break for these people.  It’s hard.  My physical and emotional strength is faltering tonight.  I need God to fill me back up again, because I’m about to run dry.

There has not been a single second of this trip that I have not been 100% happy to be here, and I’m so overjoyed to be able to come on this trip, but tonight I’m struggling just a little.

But I think that Uganda is going to be ‘my place.’  My calling.  My joy.  The place that grabs my heart and doesn’t let go.  Africa is mine.  I love this place like I’ve never loved a place before, except for maybe Costa Rica.  I don’t think that Uganda will ever replace Costa Rica, but I think that they’ll be tied.  I think they’ll both have to be my favorite (:

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 5, 2011 in Africa January 2011

 

One response to “Uganda Trip – Days 6 and 7 (January 18th and 19th)

  1. Leroy Byler

    February 5, 2011 at 21:34

    Hi Shannon, Thanks for the note under my door. It was just what I needed. I was feeling very down and stressed. Your words of encouragement were a Godsend. Bless you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
