RSS

Uganda Trip – Days 4 and 5 (January 16th and 17th)

04 Feb

January 16th, Sunday, 10:05 a.m.

(: <That is how I feel right now.  I am so flipping happy to be here!  Currently I’m a little bored, but I’m so happy!  I’m bored because our ride to church hasn’t come yet and they were due at nine.  But this is Africa, and that’s just how they roll.  But it’s so nice outside, breezy and warmish, so sitting out here waiting isn’t too bad.

8:30 p.m. Those children are so wonderful and cute and precious!  I want to take them all home with me!  And everybody was hugging us and telling us they love us and have been praying for us.  They are so amazingly cute and I love them.  And these three girls were asking if they could be my friend, and I told them of course they can!  So I can’t wait to see them tomorrow.

Everything is crazy and hectic and I haven’t got a clue what is going on or what our plans are, but that’s okay.  I think my main job (for tomorrow at least) will be triage for the med clinic.  But after that I don’t know!

Well, I’m getting ready to go have a shower now.  I love this way of living—washing clothes in the sink, taking my things from a suitcase instead of a dresser, and waking up to the sound of birds and voices drifting through the always-open window.  Living like this is bliss.

January 17, Monday, 4:00 p.m.

There are a million words that can describe me right now, but I think that the one that will work best is “exhausted.”

Today was the first day of our med clinic.  It felt wonderful to wear something besides a skirt, even if it was just scrubs.  I was in charge of doing triage, ALL BY MYSELF (except for my awesome translator) and it was about 1487259487562 times harder that it was in China!

My heart just broke for those poor, sick people.  They talk about malaria like it’s the common cold, and bloody diarrhea like a paper cut.  They are so weak and sick and they don’t realise just how sick they really are.  I wish that I could make it all better.  I can do small things for them, but I just wish that there was more help that I can give them!  But I can pray.  I can always pray.

And babies peeing on the scale, and gaping wounds, and “heart attacks” (I just wrote heart problems) and eating mashed casava.  Horrid stuff.  Dad says it tastes like sucking on a dirty sock…he’s right on.  But I ate every bite that was on my plate, because I’m good like that.  So far I’ve loved every food I’ve eaten except for the mashed casava.

We need to leave very soon for our evening stuff.  I am not yet recovered from this morning/afternoon, but God will help me find the strength to do tonight.  Here we go again.

9:45 p.m. Yes, God got me through this whole entire day, and I am fully trusting him to do it again tomorrow.  (Psalm 54:4)  I’ll sleep so well tonight, and hopefully I’ll wake up tomorrow with new energy.

This morning I felt rather sick, but thankfully that didn’t stop me from doing my job, and I felt better pretty soon.

Tonight at the crusade, Cammie and I led everyone in O Praise Him and it was so cool to hear everyone singing our songs (:  I played the guitar, which was fun but difficult because I had a cut on my finger which is now infected and it hurt, but it is feeling better and better and should be gone soon.

I just got back from sorting pills with the team to prepare for tomorrow’s clinic and now all I can smell is the chalky scent of vitamins.  I need a shower.

Long day, but a wonderful day.  I am so thankful to God for every moment, no matter how tired I feel.

I love this place!!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 4, 2011 in Africa January 2011

 

One response to “Uganda Trip – Days 4 and 5 (January 16th and 17th)

Leave a Reply

 
