RSS

Uganda Trip – Days 1 and 3 (January 13th and 15th)

02 Feb

So for my blog, I’m just going to do like I did when I went to Asia and just post my journal entries (albeit slightly edited) so enjoy (:

January 13th, Thursday

I have no idea what time it is, or what time zone we’re in.  We’re somewhere over the Atlantic Ocean.  It’s dark, and I should be sleeping.  We’ve been in this plane for like 3 hours, more or less, and we have 3 hours and 44 minutes left until we arrive in Amsterdam.  So it’s not as bad as the flight to Asia…I don’t know how long our next leg is, probably like 8 hours maybe.

I watched some TV and now I’m listening to Rise Against and writing this.  I think I’ll read next.  And then maybe I’ll sleep.  Maybe.

January 15th, Saturday, 12:45 a.m.

We’re here!  I’m all settled in.  It’s been so hectic and crazy, but I’m here!  Right now I’m lying in my bed under my mosquito net listening to insanely loud music through the window from the club across the street.

I did entirely too much sitting today, so I’m glad we are going to do something tomorrow.

The hotel we are at now is just for one night.  Tomorrow we will travel to Busia, which is our actual destination, about 4 or 5 hours’ drive away.

Well, I’m so thrilled to be here that I’m practically crying!  So happy!  And now I’m going to bed–big day tomorrow!

Thanks for getting us here, God!

January 15th, 5:00 p.m.

We’re in Busia!  I’m rooming with Cammie and our room is extremely tiny but much nicer than I had expected.  This morning I woke up and got ready to go, then Skyped Mum, then we visited the widows and orphans that Pastor Hummer helps with.  They served us breakfast and sang and danced for us.  It was so cool!  I don’t know how I feel about the way that they treat us.  It’s like we are somehow better or more important than they are.  And that is not true, so I don’t like being treated that way.  But if it’s what they want to do, then I’ll just shut up and go along with it.  Because they are so kind and happy that we’re here!

We hung out with the kids for a while after that, and they loved my camera.  Like 20 of them all crowded around me wanting me to photograph them, and then they wanted to photograph me, and then each other, and then I had to put the camera away before it got shattered.

Speaking of shattered, I’m amazed that my guitar hasn’t been yet!  From being checked in as luggage at the airport, to sitting in the sun for hours, to getting shut in a van door, my poor guitar has really taken a beating!  But aside from a few scuffs on the case, no damage has been done.  So far.

And.  I used a squat toilet today!  I’m awesome.

I love this place.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 2, 2011 in Africa January 2011

 

Leave a Reply

 
