RSS

Excerpt: “Memory Timeline”

27 Nov

This is an excerpt from my novel, and probably my favorite bit so far.

Rowan and Jill headed down the hallway and into their room, where they lay down on their blankets and turned to face each other.

“What do you think?” Jill asked.

Rowan sighed.  “What do you mean?”

“I mean, how do you feel right now?  What’s going through your head?”  She paused and bit her lip.  “Are you still glad that you came here?”

Rowan sighed once again.  “I don’t know.  Yes.  Yes, I’m so glad that I came.  I wouldn’t give this up for anything.  But I just wish that it could be all good and wonderful, you know?  I never asked for this mess.”

Jill smiled sadly.  “I know.  Nobody asked for it.  But you know what?”

“What?”

“These things, the hard things, are the things that make a trip memorable.”  She grinned.  “I mean, think about it.  All of the times you’ve gone on a family vacation and lounged around the beach, doing whatever you wanted, sleeping in and sunbathing and lazing around—were those times really memorable?  Can you think back on them and say to yourself, ‘Yes, those trips changed my life,’ or are they all just a pleasantly blurry spot on your fuzzy memory timeline?”

Rowan was dumbstruck.  He didn’t know quite what to say in response to that, so he said nothing and waited for Jill to continue.

“I’m telling you,” she said, “the hard times are what make it count.  One day you’ll look back on this fondly, and you’ll remember all the things you did and the people you met.  You’ll know that it was all worth it, worth all of the pain and the complications, because this will be one of the best times of your life.”

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 27, 2010 in NaNoWriMo 2010, Travelling/Missions

 

One response to “Excerpt: “Memory Timeline”

  1. Roel van Veldt

    November 30, 2010 at 08:31

    Wow, Shannon… I feel deeply touched by your wisdom and I feel tears pricking behind my eyes. In my life this is certainly the case. Although I must say that I have wonderful memories of blissful moments. But in retrospect I grew most through the pain I suffered. I do not believe that only the painful moments are precious, but they are invaluable experiences between all kinds of wonderful memories. Both count in equal amounts.

     

Leave a Reply

 
