RSS

What is Thanksgiving to me this year?

25 Nov

This Thanksgiving is being with my grandparents and family, and this year I’m especially thankful for my Papap.  He had a stroke back in October and lost all control over his left limbs.  I’m so thankful that his mind remains clear; he was seeming a bit out of it ever since the stroke but when I saw him again yesterday he was getting back to his normal self again.  He might never be the same physically, but he’s making progress–and he’s still the same grandfather I’ve always loved.

This Thanksgiving is sitting around the table eating a huge meal–because there are so many people in this world that won’t have any food today.  I am so blessed to be able to have a Thanksgiving dinner and eat until I can’t eat another bite, while thousands of people starved to death today.  I have enough food to live on plus some; but most of the rest of the world isn’t so fortunate.

This Thanksgiving is not being out in the cold.  It was freezing today, but I stayed nice and warm because I live in a sturdy house, I own warm clothes, and we have the ability to turn on the heat whenever we want it.

This Thanksgiving is loving my friends.  It’s about sorely missing my loved ones that live thousands of miles away, but it’s also about appreciating my loved ones that live close by.  It’s about remembering all of the hilarious, exciting, sad, difficult, and crazy things I’ve done with my friends.  It’s about looking forward to meeting new friends, and it’s about thanking God for my old friends.

This Thanksgiving is about looking back over the experiences in my life, especially over the past three or so years, and thanking God for opening the doors that he’s opened, and even thanking him for closing doors as well, as difficult as that may be.  It’s about reminding myself that his plan is so much bigger than anything I can imagine, and though I may not always understand why he does what he does, it’s for the best.  He’s sent me to places that I’ve never dreamed of going, and he’s told me to stay home from places that I always dream of going.  But no matter what, I am thankful for his hand in my life and his plan.

Thanksgiving is about being thankful for the things that have happened, the things I’ve been given, the things that I’ve been able to do, but it’s also about looking ahead and imagining what’s to come.  It’s just as much about the future as it is about the past.  And one thing in particular that is standing out for me this year is my upcoming trip to Uganda and Swaziland–that opportunity is something to be thankful for!  I am so excited!

Anyway, I feel like this blog post was terribly incoherent, so I’m sorry…but I hope you enjoyed reading about what I’m thankful this year.  What are you thankful for?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 25, 2010 in Holiday Stuff

 

One response to “What is Thanksgiving to me this year?

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    November 26, 2010 at 08:01

    I, too, am especially thankful for Papap this year–that he’s still here with us, that he’s making progress in his physical therapy, and that he’s motivated to do the hard work to regain whatever function and mobility he can. I am grateful that this week we are seeing glimpses of laughter and personality return in him, as well.

    And, I am particularly thankful for the relationship you have with our Savior. I love that you love Him and are willing to follow him wherever he leads you. I’m proud to be your mom, Sweet One!

     

Leave a Reply

 
