RSS

Your Love has Carried Me

06 Nov

So, lots of people who have been keeping up with me on facebook know that there has been a lot of destruction in Costa Rica over the last few weeks.  Huge floods and dangerous landslides and taken hundreds, thousands of peoples’ homes, and some have even lost their lives.

It’s so hard for me to sit back and watch while my favorite place on earth is ripped to shreds.  Why is this happening?  I wish I could be there in person right now, but for the time being all I can do it pray.  I pray that the rain will stop and the floods will recede; I pray that the people who lost their homes and loved ones will somehow see God’s face through all of this mess and destruction.

I know that God is in everything, and I have to trust that he has a plan for all of this.  And while I still wish I could be there to help, I just need to pray.  For now, that is all that I can do, so I will do it as best I can.

If you’re reading this, would you be praying also?  The people of Costa Rica need it.

Here is something that I wrote today, thinking about what’s going on all over Costa Rica, and the little community of Los Anonos in particular.

You are all knowing
When I lose my way
You are unchanging
When I start to fade
And You are all powerful
When I am weak
And You are sufficient
For all of me

When the earth quakes
When the ground shakes
When the sun is cast into the sea
When the floods rise
I won’t lose sight
Of all the times Your love has carried me

When all around is sinking sand
You’re the only place that I can stand
It’s all a part of Your grand plan
So I leave it in Your hands

When the earth quakes
When the ground shakes
When the sun is cast into the sea
When the floods rise
I won’t lose sight
Of all the times Your love has carried me

I’m not quite sure what category this post belongs in, so I’m going to stick in it one of my Costa Rica categories.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 6, 2010 in Costa Rica March 2010, Writing

 

3 responses to “Your Love has Carried Me

  1. Cindy LaFrance

    November 12, 2010 at 17:57

    Wonderful poem, Shannon… If it’s OK, I would like to save it to my computer and share it….
    Miss you!

     
    • sdecourcey

      November 12, 2010 at 22:24

      Yesss, that would be fine if you’d like (:

       
  2. sue wilcox

    November 12, 2010 at 18:19

    Flippin’ amazing… you nailed it

     

Leave a Reply

 
