RSS

9:28:51

31 Oct

^^That is how long until NaNoWriMo officially begins in my time zone.

I’m absolutely not ready for this.  I have no clue where my novel is going to take me.  Maybe I should have written an outline after all?  I fall under the coined term “pantser” among Wrimos, because I tend to write by the seat of my pants…and this time around, I’m wondering if that was such a good idea.  Last time I was not satisfied with the finished product, Pura Vida, because it was poorly written and it felt spontaneous and random and incoherent.  So I don’t want that again for this year…Maybe I should have planned a bit better.

But then, I think to myself, “For me writing is a creative, expressive activity.  Why ruin it with rules and outlines and structure?”  I shy away from structure in novelwriting, because I feel like once I have my novel planned, I cannot deviate.  Even if my original plan has nothing to do with where my novel wants to go, I must stick with it.  And feeling that way makes me nervous 😛

So I am working on finding a midpoint.  Planning enough that my novel isn’t a wreck, but not letting planning get in the way of the craziness (:

NaNoWriMo is so close!  Tonight I’m going to sleep in my NaNo shirt so that when midnight comes and NaNo officially begins, I’ll be ready 😀

On another note, NaNoWriMo.org is being really slow right now….Probably because like a zillion people are on it right now in anticipation of the kickoff, which has already started in many places on the other side of the world.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 31, 2010 in NaNoWriMo 2010

 

One response to “9:28:51

  1. Roel

    November 1, 2010 at 17:42

    Why wouldn’t you plan and structure as much as you like, to break the rules every now and then you feel it inhibits your creativity? Once a great german writer (Goethe) said: “In der Beschränkung zeigt sich erst der Meister, Und das Gesetz nur kann uns Freiheit geben.” Only by setting boundaries you can define your freedom (within these boundaries).

    Good writing luck, Shannon! And just have fun with it, that’s what really counts. 🙂

    Roel

     

Leave a Reply

 
