RSS

750 Words

13 Oct

So I found this awesome site called http://www.750words.com.

And, as the name might imply, the point of this site is to write 750 words.  Each day.  It’s really cool, it has all these stats and it even analyzes your mood while writing.

Just now, I wrote my 75o, and it took 17 minutes, which is more or less 42 words per minute.  My main moods were affectionate, followed by upset and axious, in that order.  My main concerns were religion, money, and death.  Yikes, I had no idea my thoughts were that dismal 😛  My mindsets were negative, uncertain, and thinking.  And my main tense was Future.  My most-used words were Costa Rica, because, eggs, and words.

It’s so cool!  I just wrote whatever was on my mind (a lot of things right now) and nobody will ever see it and I can keep track of my wordcount.

I think this will be helpful for keeping track of my New Year’s Resolution of writing 200,000 words this year…which is nearly double 2009’s year wordcount, which was more or less 106,000.

So I signed up for the monthly challenge, which is basically simply writing my 750 words each day.  If I miss even one day, my name will be added to the wall of shame on 750words.com, and also I will force myself to write double the next day.  However, if I make all 30 days without missing one, my name will be added to the wall of awesomeness.

So for NaNoWriMo, I need to write 1,667 words each day for the duration of November.  For this challenge, I only need to write 75o.  So that will be easy, I’ll just copy and paste my daily novelwriting to 750words.com.  Or maybe vice-versa, because that will work better for the stats and everything.

Anyway.

19 days till NaNoWriMo!!

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 13, 2010 in NaNoWriMo 2010, Writing

 

One response to “750 Words

  1. Dawson Vosburg

    October 16, 2010 at 13:20

    Really like that website! Fun, cleanly designed, and very interesting stats. I almost couldn’t stop writing. I’m just so giddy for NaNo!

    You’ve got to give me some way we can talk regularly–word wars should be in order for this coming November.

     

Leave a Reply

 
