RSS

Goodbye, FiftyNinety.

30 Sep

So it’s over.  50/90 is over.  The longest and shortest ninety days of my life (:
It’s very bittersweet.  I’m glad it’s over, because now I don’t have to constantly think about my next song anymore and I can just take a break from songwriting–for a little while 😉  But I’m also sad because it was so much fun, and I loved the 50/90 community and atmosphere, the encouragement, the challenge,  the teamwork.  I loved working alongside some really cool people, and I really loved when I collaborated with like 5 other people to write a song together.  We had a lot of fun.

I really grew in my songwriting abilities over the past three months.  I learned how to be creative even when I don’t necessarily want to be.  I learned how to dig deep into my brain and extract every bit of muse that I have.  I learned how to write about all kinds of subjects and genres, I learned how to be serious or funny or both, I learned how to rhyme, I learned how not to rhyme, I learned how to persevere even when I reeeeally felt like giving up.

I’m in for next year (:  Who’s with me?

Now I have a whole entire month to get myself together before NaNoWriMo starts and I have to switch from songwriter mode to novelist mode.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2010 in FiftyNinety, Writing

 

2 responses to “Goodbye, FiftyNinety.

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    September 30, 2010 at 20:17

    I love that you tackle these challenges, Shannon. And I agree that you are growing so much in your writing skills, your technique, your vocabulary, your creativity…and I love the way your writing reflects that growth. It’s fun and heartening for me to read your songs, poems, essays, a novels, as they reveal parts of you that I wouldn’t otherwise know. I’m so very proud of you and I love you!

     
  2. Roel van Veldt

    October 28, 2010 at 01:16

    So we’ll meet again. See you in February! 🙂

    Roel

    P.S. And please make sure next time you’ve found a way to record your own songs, because it’s sad to be on a songwriter’s website where you can’t share your music. I can recommend the Zoom H2. Great value for a fair price.

     

Leave a Reply

 
