RSS

50/90

11 Aug

Okay so…I’ve been posting all of these songs in my FiftyNinety category, but if you’re reading them you might not really know what 50/90 is.  So I’ll explain.

In short, it’s the time between July 4th and October 1st, during which a few hundred crazed musicians around the world attempt to write 50 songs in 90 days.

Some people are crazy enough to try 50 songs in 90 hours, and a few have even tried 50 songs in 90 minutes!   I’m the traditional type, although writing 50 songs in 90 minutes would be a great exercise for my songwriting muscle (:  We also get together and do collaborations, which are anything from two people working on a song together, to a whole group contributing a line or a chord to make a song.  Right now we’ve got one going on with all (or most) of the high school/college participants.  It’s still in the making, but I might post it when it’s done…possibly…

So anyway…if you want more information (you should participate next year) go to http://fiftyninety.fawmers.org/

As of right now, I’ve got 18 complete songs, plus 13 messing-around songs that I wrote when I wanted to see how many songs I could write in a half hour.  So total songs = 31, but only 18 of those will count toward my goal of 50.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 11, 2010 in FiftyNinety

 

Leave a Reply

 
