RSS

Who I Am (Song 10 of 50)

07 Aug

So…now I feel like a REAL songwriter. For three reasons:

1) I wrote a song that has two names.
2) I wrote a song that has a key change!
3) I wrote a song that includes the term “six-string” when referring to a guitar.

I like this one…it’s one of the few that I’ve written so far that I actually like 😛

I’m just a kid trying to find my place in this world
Trying to guess what life will hurl at me next
I’m a little reckless at times, and a little misunderstood
Aren’t we all?
And I’m just an artist, with a six-string on my back
Dreaming of making it, and taking off, but stuck on the ground
I strive to make life into something I can be proud of
Don’t we all?

My life is like a masquerade
Every day I wear a different face
But when I’m done with all these games I play
And I let the walls down
I don’t know who I am anymore.

I’m just a dreamer with my head in the clouds
Trying to figure out where fantasy ends and life begins
I cling to every dream I have and hope it survives
Don’t we all?
And I’m just a seeker looking for light
Searching for something that will make life worth living again
Holding on to every shred of truth in this messed up world
Aren’t we all?

My life is like a masquerade
Every day I wear a different face
But when I’m done with all these games I play
And I let the walls down
I don’t know who I am anymore.

And I cry; can you hear me?
Somewhere out there can you hear me calling you?
I’m at the end of my rope, I need a Savior to step in
You step into my life

My life is like a masquerade
Every day I wear a different face
But when I’m done with all these games I play
You’re waiting for me
And I know who I am in your arms

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 7, 2010 in FiftyNinety

 

Leave a Reply

 
