RSS

Forever Dying (Song 12 of 50)

07 Aug

A song from lamentations…Some people on the 50/90 website were complaining about all of the Christians songs on there being about God being lovey and flowery, but not enough were about his less popular characteristics.  So I had to take that as a challenge, and I wrote a song about God’s wrath.  Of course, God’s wrath is only half of it–His perfect forgiveness is the other half.

I’ve felt your rod upon my back
I’ve writhed and cried out from my bed
I’ve felt the pain of bones you shattered
And dwelt in darkness like the dead
As I cower in the ash
My chains are heavy on my skin
I’ve abandoned happiness,
Forever dying for my sin

But why should I complain?
I’ve brought this on myself.

I call your name from the depths of my destruction
Hear my cry; remember my affliction
And though it kills my inside when I cannot see your face
You have compassion on my wretched soul.
Though your wrath afflicts me day and night
Your mercies are renewed
I hope in you.

You have clothed yourself in anger
You have turned aside our steps
We’ve been cast into the pit
Where we await our looming death
You have made us scum and garbage
You have made us come to ruin
We grieve without respite
Forever dying for our sin

But why should we complain?
We have brought this on ourselves.

We call your name from the depths of our destruction
Hear our cry; remember our affliction
And though it kills us inside when we cannot see your face
You have compassion on our wretched souls.
Though your wrath afflicts us day and night
Your mercies are renewed
We hope in you.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 7, 2010 in FiftyNinety

 

Leave a Reply

 
