RSS

Asia Trip (Part 1 of 7)

12 Jul

This is my journal entry for July 5th, the day that we arrived in East Asia.  We arrived at 1:00 in the morning and I wrote this just before going to bed.

We’re here!  Wow!  I’m in Asia!  And I’m no longer nervous at all…well, maybe a tad but really not much, thanks to God.  This country is lovely, although so far I’ve only seen it in the dark.  I’ll get to see more tomorrow.  They have these little timers on the stoplights that tell you when the color of going to change.  And everything is so cheery and colorful!  Well, mostly.  And the people are beautiful and so sweet.  And in Hong Kong they drive on the wrong side of the road, but when we crossed the border it went back to normal.  Time zones are really messing with me–I ate dinner at that was dinnertime here but like 7 in the morning in Virginia.  Now I’m going to bed while at home everyone is wide awake, celebrating the 4th of July.  I’m very awake and very hungry right now, but I should be going to sleep.  Our hotel is very nice, maybe the nicest I’ve ever stayed in.  It hardly seems like appropriate lodging for a missionary…I feel like we should be in little huts or on a dirt floor or something.  But I’m thanking God for the nice accommodations–I wasn’t expecting it to be so nice but I like it!  Oh, and our bathroom has an American toilet–not a squatty potty!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 12, 2010 in Asia July 2010

 

One response to “Asia Trip (Part 1 of 7)

  1. Cindy LaFrance

    July 12, 2010 at 17:14

    Hey! Welcome home!! Looking forward to the rest of your entries!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
