RSS

Anatomy and Physiology Camp

19 Jun

I did so much this week at camp!  An average day looked like this:

  • 7:00 a.m. Wake up
  • 8:00 a.m. Breakfast
  • 9:00 a.m. To the Lab
  • 12:00 p.m. Lunch
  • 1:00 p.m. Back to the Lab
  • 5:30 p.m. Dinner
  • 7:00 p.m. Free time/homework
  • 11:00 p.m. Curfew/more homework
  • 12:00-1:00 a.m. Bed

Here are some of the things we did in the lab: 5 different blood tests including typing, hematocrit, and glucose; urinalyses; reflex tests (which my results turned our better than average on–I’m quite surprised); vision tests (My acuity is 20/15 and my near point accomodation is 4.5); dissection (Sheep lungs, heart, gall bladder, liver, and pregnant uterus; cadavers); surgery simulation (scrubbing in; sutures; drawing blood; injections; stapling wounds), averages and graphing, coloring and labeling, discussing career options in medicine, writing essays, sketching diagrams, and a bazillion other things.

I delivered a baby sheep by C-section, named him Alexander, and took him home with me in a jar.  I got pricked and drew my blood 5 times this week, 3 of those times on my birthday.  I ate candy urine, blood, and saliva that looked like the real thing but tasted like gross sour candy, which they were.  I messed around with some equipment in a sports science laboratory.  I met some amazing new friends who like the same gross, freakish things that I like.  I drank 30 ounces of water in under two minutes for the sake of science.  I discovered that, contrary to what we thought, I am not anemic but actually have surprisingly high hematocrit.  I made it so that my DNA is visible to the naked eye and I saved it in a test tube.  I ate ice cream and soda for breakfast and gave myself a stomachache, once again for the sake of science.  I calculated SO many averages that I never want to touch a calculator again.

I went into this camp thinking either I would love it and want to pursue a medical career, or I would be grossed out and change my mind.  Guess which of those two things ended up happening? (:

I’m glad that I got this opportunity.  I’m still just as excited as ever about my options, maybe even more, and I’m really thankful that I was able to do this and decide whether or not I’m still interested (which I am!)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 19, 2010 in Ramblings About Nothing

 

Leave a Reply

 
