RSS

It’s Not Me.

24 May

Money.

Money is so important!  It’s such a small thing, and yet it can do so much!  Oh, how I wish that I could forget about money, forget about cost, forget about worrying whether or not I’ve got enough.  But it doesn’t work that way–money is necessary.

A couple of weeks ago, I went to a festival-type thing in Luray to sell beaded necklaces, bracelets, and earrings to raise money for my trip to Asia in July.  I thought, “I’ll sell so many, and people will want to support my mission trip.  I’ll surely make a ton of money and use it all for my trip.”  I thought that I could do it all by myself; that through my efforts I could pay for my trip.  But God had a different idea.

I didn’t make very much money at all.  I only sold a handful of my things, and I made less than half of the money that I’d anticipated making.  I was very discouraged and I wondered why I couldn’t do it.  I wondered why my plan didn’t work.

But now, looking back on it and trying to figure it out, I realize something.  I realize that I tried to rely on myself, when I should have relied on God.  I tried to take care of everything on my own instead of trusting God to handle it.  Now don’t get me wrong, I’m very grateful for the small amount of money that I did make, but I realize that I made a mistake in thinking I could handle it by myself.

It’s not me–it’s God.  He’s the only one who has the ability to make this trip happen; the only one who can miraculously provide the large amount of money that’s necessary for me to go to Asia.  I still wish that money wasn’t an issue, but since it is and I can’t change that, I’ll just have to have a little faith and see what God does.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 24, 2010 in Asia July 2010

 

One response to “It’s Not Me.

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    May 24, 2010 at 12:15

    Oh, how thankful I am for the lessons God is teaching you so early in your life…and I am especially grateful to Him because you are learning the lessons, depending on Him, and growing in your faith. I can’t wait to see what God does this time, Shannon!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
