RSS

A Flourishing Finish (Philippians 1:6)

05 May

Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ.”  (KJV)

“And I am convinced and sure of this very thing, that He Who began a good work in you will continue until the day of Jesus Christ [right up to the time of His return], developing [that good work] and perfecting and bringing it to full completion in you.” (Amplified Bible)

“There has never been the slightest doubt in my mind that the God who started this great work in you would keep at it and bring it to a flourishing finish on the very day Christ Jesus appears.” (Message)

The past couple of weeks since coming home from my fourth trip to Costa Rica, I’ve been worried for my ticos.  They’ve constantly been in my prayers and thoughts, and I was afraid that something awful would happen to them while I’m away from them.  It felt so horrible to be helpless, wondering if they’ll still be the people I know and love next time I get to see them.  I don’t even know when I’ll get to see them again, and I lie awake at night wondering if they’re okay.

It would hardly surprise me if they all end up getting sucked into drugs and violence and all of Satan’s lies and temptations.  That thought terrifies me.  It has driven me to tears more times than I care to count, and the last couple of weeks have been especially bad.

I pray for my ticos every time they cross my mind.  And I pray that God would protect them from the evil things that they encounter every day.  God heard my prayers and he showed me the above verse, Philippians 1:6, to answer me.  I can rest in confidence that God has begun a good work inside each of my ticos, and I must believe and have faith that He will not abandon it!  He’s working inside of my ticos even now, and I can be sure that He will bring them to completion on the day of Christ Jesus!

I thank God for reassuring me when I felt like there was no hope.  It’s not easy for me to be so far away from Costa Rica, not knowing what’s going on there, but I must remember that even though I can’t always see my ticos face-to-face, I can still support them and help them through prayer, and I must trust that when I finally get to see them again, God will be even greater in them.

 

One response to “A Flourishing Finish (Philippians 1:6)

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    May 6, 2010 at 09:09

    I’m so thankful that you are turning to God’s Word for encouragement! It’s living and active–our power for living!! Keep writing–I love reading about some of the ways you live your faith. The lessons God is teaching you serve also to teach and encourage me. Thanks for being willing to share. I love you muchly!

     

Leave a Reply

 
