RSS

Home

01 Apr

We’re not in Costa Rica anymore.  Everyone here speaks English, and drives safely, and has humongous houses and luxurious cars.  It’s funny how I don’t realize what blessings we have here in the USA until I don’t have them anymore.  Even the smallest of houses around here is nicer than most of the houses down there.  We have a lot to be thankful for, so if you’re reading this would you take a moment to thank God for everything?

This morning I slept in really late, and when I woke up I took a shower.  It was a sad shower because I washed the last of the Costa Rica dirt off of my feet.  I didn’t think that taking a shower would be such a hard thing to do, but now I hardly have any Costa Rica left on me.  The only bit of Costa Rica I have left on me is the anklet that Wil gave me.  The rest of it is in my heart.

I miss my Ticos terribly.  I got to say goodbye to Pipo and Nanis and Kevin, but not Wil because he was helping to clean up after his house burned down on Tuesday night.  Saying goodbye is a hard thing to do, but not being able to is even harder.  I wrote Wil a note of encouragement and prayer for this difficult time, but I wish I had been able to say goodbye in person.  He’s such a great guy and I thank God for him, his brother, his mother, and the rest of his family.  I really bonded with them all, and they’re wonderful.  I’ll miss them all.

We got home last night at about 2:30 in the morning.  It was a really long day full of sitting around in a smelly stuffy airplane.  I cried plenty, but not as much as I thought I would.  I miss them as much as ever, but I just don’t feel like crying.

You know that feeling when you’re in an airplane and your ears pop, and they hurt really badly and you can’t hear anything?  It happened to me last night and still, nearly 12 hours later, hasn’t gone away.

I am really upset that Wil’s house burned down and I’m not there to help with cleanup and rebuilding.  A team is coming in a couple of weeks to build a new house for them, but until then I wish I was there with them.  Meanwhile, I’m trying to find the blessings in the situation.  For one thing, I thank God that no one was hurt.  For another thing, I thank God that it was just a house and it doesn’t matter in the long run.  I also know that this will bring the family closer together, and I pray that it will also bring them closer to God.  I know that God can take a tragedy like this and turn it into a blessing, so I’m just waiting to see what He will do.  Please keep praying for the family.  They’re taking it surprisingly well, with a positive outlook because they know that this means they’ll have a new house soon.  They really needed one, so I guess this works out for the better if you think of it that way.  I mean, their house before was not much of a house at all, so now that it’s gone there is room for a real house.

I wish I could have seen Mario more.  He is one of the guys that I got really close to back in August, so I was looking forward to seeing him again.  But as some of you know, he’s gotten into drugs and is doing some really stupid things, and the one time that I saw him he was high and I wasn’t able to talk to him.  I wish I could have, but some other members of my team were able to, for only a moment, but that moment counts and I hope it meant something to him.  Please keep praying for him, because he really needs it right now.  Also pray for my friend Jesus.  He is not doing drugs or anything like that, but he’s been acting wierd and avoiding church and stuff, so I don’t know what that means for him but he just needs prayer.

Well, I hope that this entry has not been too terribly incoherent; but my thoughts are extremely scattered right now.  I am sad and happy and frustrated and thankful and anxious and wistful and regretful all at the same time, but I thank God for my experiences on this mission trip and can’t wait to do it again!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 1, 2010 in Costa Rica March 2010

 

One response to “Home

  1. Cammie

    April 1, 2010 at 17:30

    Shannon, you have such a beautiful heart, a refreshing faith. I can’t wait to see what the Lord does through you and where He will take you. Thanks for sharing the trip with us. We’re glad you went…and we’re glad you’re home again.

     

Leave a Reply

 
