RSS

Day 9/Prayer Request

31 Mar

Tonight has been a whirlwind of emotions.  I have cried so much tonight; some tears of joy and many tears of deep sadness.

First of all, my tears of joy: My friend Jason has not smoked all week!  This is something he struggles with, so it’s a big deal for him.

I got to see all of the Ticos on my must-see list, and I love them more and more every day!

And tears of sadness because we’re leaving tomorrow, which is bittersweet.  I’m looking forward to being home but I wish I could have just a couple more days here.  Saying goodbye is so hard.  Tonight my friend Jono left after dinner and I was completely unprepared to say goodbye to him, so I cried.  Of course I probably would have cried even if I had braced myself before saying goodbye…

And here is a shocker and most definitely the low point of my entire trip: My friend Wil,  with whom I bonded a lot this week, lost his home tonight.  A fire came out of nowhere and burned the shack to the ground in a matter of minutes.  Thank God it didn’t spread to David’s house, because with David’s leg the way it is he would not have been able to escape.  So Wil and his family are staying with David now, and they are receiving help from locals churches and friends and neighbors.  It’s really cool to watch them support each other. Watching the fire consume Wil’s house was a very hard thing to do.  I didn’t even know whose house it was until it was already gone.  Poor Will, poor Heraldo, poor parrots and cats and everyone.  I must continue reminding myself that it’s just a house, but still it is a big deal.  But God will take this tragedy and use it for something beautiful; I know.  Next time I see Wil, he will have a brand new, big, sturdy house in place of the remnants of his shack.  But just be praying for this.  Tears were shed by all tonight, and I feel emotionally drained right now, like I have no tears and no laughter left inside of me.  This family is struggling tonight; we’ve done what we can to help but the main thing that they need is prayer.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 31, 2010 in Costa Rica March 2010

 

One response to “Day 9/Prayer Request

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    March 31, 2010 at 11:39

    Shannon, I’ve been praying for you, knowing that the fire was going to make coming home even more difficult for you. I’m thankful you were there last night to offer comfort and support, as well as prayer and hope. I think it would have been even harder for you to have been home when this happened. So, as hard as it was to be there, I am glad you were there. But, I am also looking forward to having you home…at least for a while. I love you, sweet girl!

     

Leave a Reply

 
