RSS

Day 7

28 Mar

I didn’t blog for two days in a row…sorry…

Today I woke up in a really foul mood.  We’re coming home in three days and I’m not ready, so I was upset.  But then I opened up my journal to do my Bible study, and the first words that I saw on the page were “Negative or Joyful?”  I stared at it for a moment and thought to myself, “I am happy to be here.  I can’t be negative and joyful at the same time, and I am happy to be here, so therefore I must not be negative.”  And now I am about as happy as I’ve been all week!

David says hello.

On Friday we went to the hottest place I’ve been in a really long time.  We were scoping out the need for a church plant in the future, and we visited some people.  We played with some kids and stuck our feet in a bathwater river and ate mangos right off of the tree and starfruit and cashew fruit.  Did you know that cashews grow on squishy red fruits?  The fruits look like bell peppers, kinda, and they have a cashew growing out the bottom.  And we went to this little restaurant and I had cas and casados and it was so good.  I love Costa Rican food.  And we met a guy named Juan who was very cool and talked with us for a long time and gave us free Agua de Pipa, which is quite good in small quantities.

And yesterday we did an outreach with the kids of Anonos, and I got to see an old friend from one of my previous trips.  It was so great to see her.  And I met some little kids and some big kids and it was great.

Then afterwards, we went to the house of a guy named David whom I met on my last trip, and he is looking so good.  We made flower pens with the ladies and beaded necklaces with the kids, and David asked me to make him an anklet for his hurt leg.  And then Will was showing me a trick with a coin and I was trying desperately to learn it.  And then we somehow got into a contest of strength and flexibility, and I won one of the things but mostly I was pathetically incapable.  There was this guy named Jason and he is huge for a Tico, and crazy strong, and actually very flexible too which surprised me.  I could very nearly fit my entire hand in one of his palms.  And I challenged Will to a game of purple hands and beat him, then Jason challenged me and we went until it was time to go, so the winner was undecided.  Now my hands are purple and painful, but I would really like to see how his hands look right now!

Will and I made a deal that we’ll teach each other Spanish and English, because he wants to learn just as much as I do.  And that’s really great because I’ll have a chance to show him love despite the language barrier.  That’s what I’m here for.

I think that love is possibly the difference between life and death for some of these people.  Why do you think so many people commit suicide?  Because they feel unloved.  Why do you think so many people rely on drugs for joy?  Because they don’t find joy in others.  So I am here to show love and bring joy.  I thank God for showing me this in such a real way.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 28, 2010 in Costa Rica March 2010

 

Leave a Reply

 
