RSS

Fawm Song Eleven

24 Feb

This one was hard to write.  And I don’t mean it was difficult to think of the words or the tune or the chords–that part was quite simple, actually–I mean it was emotionally difficult.  I wrote this song for a person whom I love, and it pretty much sums up exactly how I feel right now.

If I were by your side right now
If I could hold your hand
If I could trust that you would listen
If I knew you’d understand
If it wouldn’t make you angry
If it wouldn’t cause you pain
If I could tell you anything,
This is what I’d say:

I would tell you to get over yourself
I would say this is a big mistake
I would say you’re making stupid choices
But I’d say I love you anyway.
I would tell you that you’re beautiful
I would tell you that I care for you
I would say I want the best for you
I would say it’s not too late…

(repeat verse)
(repeat chorus)

To turn around
To break these chains
To change your mind
To live again
So turn around
And break these chains
Just change your mind
And live again

Just get over yourself
This is a big mistake
You’re making stupid choices
But I love you anyway.
You’re beautiful
I care for you
I want the best for you
It’s not too late…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2010 in Music, Writing

 

2 responses to “Fawm Song Eleven

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    February 25, 2010 at 01:17

    So, I really like this song, too. But I do have a question: you wrote this song for someone you care about who is making some bad choices right now. You mention in the song that you would tell him these things if you knew it wouldn’t make him angry. Well, what if he needs to hear what you have to say even if it would make him angry in the short-term, but it’s best for his long-term spiritual health? I struggle with the decision to tell someone a hard thing that will hurt or anger them, thought I know it’s what they need to hear. I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts…because you just may have an opportunity to talk to your person, right?

    Keep writing, Shannon!

     
  2. Chappie

    June 8, 2010 at 10:25

    This song is amazing. Your heart for this person (and for others He has called you to serve)is clearly depicted in these lyrics, and it’s beautiful. Your passion, faith, and love is truly inspiring. Keep up the Good work.

    P.S. If this is for the person I am thinking of, I’ll be sure to keep him in prayer.

     

Leave a Reply

 
