RSS

All the Difference

18 Feb

I’m writing fourteen songs in February.  Yes, I’m behind, but I’m still working at it.  I’m just short of six songs, so I’m almost halfway to my goal.

In one of the forums on the February Album Writing Month website (fawm.org) people are discussing what their motivation is.  What do they hope to accomplish by writing fourteen songs in a month?  Do they do it for fun?  Do they do it to make friends?  To get publicity?  To earn bragging rights?  So, I spent some time thinking my answer through before I posted it.  Here’s what I said:

I’m not terribly interested in performing.
Some of my songs I write for myself and God, nothing else. Others I hope to use to inspire people, to make them think about things that they don’t think of every day. To give people a different perspective, to let them see things the way I see things. I hope that I can change lives through what I do–even if only one single person ever learns anything from me, that’s one life changed and it matters.

 And that is my motivation.

One life makes all the difference.  One life at a time, I can change the world, whether it be through my music, through my writing, through my foreign missions, through conversation, through example.

So that’s why I do what I do.  Above all, my purpose in life is to bring glory to God.  And I pray that by striving to do just that, I will have opportunities to inspire and motivate others to do the same.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 18, 2010 in Music, Travelling/Missions, Writing

 

Leave a Reply

 
