RSS

Song 3 of 14

04 Feb

Here’s my third song for FAWM.  It has the feel of a love song, but I wrote it with something else in mind where Jesus is speaking and I am being spoken to.

You turn away, to hide the shattered pieces of your heart
You say there’s nothing left
You say you’re too far gone, how could I ever love someone like you?
But you don’t know the truth

Don’t you realize that you’re all I’ve ever wanted in this life?
And so much more
Take your first step, take me for who I am and you’ll see,
I’m all you’ll ever need.

I hear you cry, I’ve been there before and I know what pain is like
Let me dry your tears
Just take my hand, and trust that I’ll make everything alright
It’ll be alright

Don’t you realize that you’re all I’ve ever wanted in this life?
And so much more
Take your first step, take me for who I am and you’ll see,
I’m all you’ll ever need.

You’re all I’ve ever wanted in my life

Take your first step
Take your first step

You turn away, to hide the shattered pieces of your heart, you say there’s nothing left….

As I was writing the first verse, I got news that one of my friends from Costa Rica (not gonna mention his name) is sliding downhill and getting back into drugs and just not doing very well, and as I wrote the rest of the song I just couldn’t get him out of my mind.  I wish he could hear this and understand it right now.  Please pray for him, that somehow he would find his way back where he belongs and get his life back on track.  It came as a complete shock to hear about him because I thought he was doing so well until now!  He’s my friend, and I wish there was something I could do for him because it hurts so much to see somebody that I care about doing this to himself.  For now, all I can do is pray.  I’m just really worried about him.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 4, 2010 in Music

 

One response to “Song 3 of 14

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    February 5, 2010 at 20:28

    Shannon, beautiful words. I’d love to hear you play Kona or the keyboard and sing your song. Will you? Love you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
