RSS

Romans 1:8-12

02 Jan

Romans 1:8-12 is Paul writing a letter to the Roman Christians as he anticipated preaching to them for the first time.  He wrote this letter to introduce himself and make his motives known to the people he was traveling to see. 

Below are my thoughts on each verse in this passage.  I’m looking at them from a missions perspective–reading carefully to see how I can apply these truths in my missions, both local and foreign.  (In case you wondered, the translation I’m using today is Holman Christian Standard Bible.)

8. “First, I thank my God through Jesus Christ for all of you because news of your faith is being reported in all the world.”  Notice how it says I thank my God through Jesus Christ–this is because Jesus is the intercessor for our prayers.  Matthew 14:6 says there is no way to the Father but through Jesus.

9. “For God, whom I serve with my spirit in telling the good news about His Son, is my witness that I constantly mention you…”  Paul is saying that he prays for the Romans.  In the same way, I mention my friends from Costa Rica in my prayers every day, and I think about them almost constantly.  I pray for their physical well-being, but also for their faith to grow.

10. “…always asking in my prayers that if it is somehow in God’s will, I may now at last succeed in coming to you.”  Paul has been wanting to go to Rome for quite a while now, and he’s been praying for an opportunity.  Finally, his ardent prayer paid off, and God gave him the opportunity he so desperately desired.  When I came home from my most recent trip to Costa Rica, I prayed for weeks that God would have me go back as soon as possible.  I prayed consistently, earnestly seeking answers, and God did answer according to His good and perfect will…He’s given me another opportunity to travel to Costa Rica, and for that I’m grateful.  This goes to show that with a little bit of faith and patience, your prayers will be answered in the way that is best in the grand scheme of things.

11. “For I want very much to see you, that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to strengthen you…” Paul went on his journey to Rome not only to witness to those who had not heard, but also to strengthen those who had.  He went to encourage them in their walk with God.  The first time I went to Costa Rica, I went to tell those who didn’t know the Lord, but now as I prepare for my fourth trip (although I will most definitely still witness to the lost), we’ll focus more on encouraging, on fellowshipping, on helping and teaching and sharing with some of the same people whose lives have been changed by God working through us.

12. “…that is, to be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith, both yours and mine.”  Not only will we teach and serve them, but we can expect them to do the same for us.  On my last trip, I went expecting to serve, but I ended up being served by them in a way that they might never know.

 
 

4 responses to “Romans 1:8-12

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    January 2, 2010 at 22:00

    Shannon, I love reading about what God is showing you. Keep writing and sharing. I’m encouraged by your faith!

     
  2. colettesoffthebeatentraktravel

    January 4, 2010 at 03:23

    Dear Shannon, God Bless You……

    I will continue to pray that the Lord will shine his light on the desires of your heart and that where He has you go, He will provide blessings to all who come in contact with you….hear you speak God’s words and see His Spirit living inside of you…I pray they will want what you have and that you will have an opportunity to show them the one and only TRUE GOD….and teach them ALL He has done for His us…

    I hope you don’t mind my writing you. I had to leave a comment because I want to share how the Lord led me here….

    I have a “left-over to-do list from 2009” and am determined to finish it before this week is over…..
    So, tonight I joined wordpress to fulfill a promise I made to someone to sign-up…I felt a bit silly because I don’t really know this person but we’ve discussed politics and the economy, and so I prayed that I would not be signing up for this reason alone, but that I would be able to use this blog for His glory..somehow….
    After signing up, I noticed the box that asks to describe this blog I’m creating, and I had no idea what to say….
    Think, Think, Think is all I could think of ….because all I’ve been doing today has been centered around Costa Rica, our most recent trip there, downloading pix, discribing our mission there, and feeling a little remorse because I miss CR and the people so much..

    You mention in your blog Paul praying to go back to Rome, I feel a bit like this myself….I miss the orphanage, and feel God wants me there…I came home knowing that I will go back….I just don’t know in what capacity……it never ceases to amaze me that in God’s Kingdom we are never strangers….

    Tonight is a perfect witness to this….God led me here, and I have His assurance that what I am feeling is real, and I praise Him for leading me to someone who shares the same heart as I do…

    Before I log-off I just wanted you to know how your blog, my first ever visited as a member blessed me this evening and how the Lord used you…

    B.T.W…The area the Lord has given has drawn me to is the Central Valley…this is where my friends are, the orphanage is, and where I left my heart. 😦 ….

    Please tell me, where is it you are going? G’day…..and Gracias!

    In His Service,
    Colette

     
    • sdecourcey

      January 4, 2010 at 10:11

      mm thank you 🙂 It made me smile to know that I was able to bless someone with my writing…

      When I go to Costa Rica, we stay in Anonos with an organizaiton called Harvest Hands. I’m leaving in March to go to my fourth trip there, and each one gets better and better, although indeed much harder to leave…The people down there are such amazing Christ-followers and I find it hard to believe that they’re the same people who were addicts, murderers, or simply helpless, misguided people when I first met them…God has done and continues to do great things.
      I miss Costa Rica with all of my heart, so I definitely understand how you feel. I’m literally counting the days until I go back–I think today there are 76 days left–and so are my Tico friends! I like to imagine that they miss me as much as I miss them…It’s nice though, because some of them have facebooks by which we’ve been keeping in touch and I’ve been practicing my Spanish 😉

       
  3. colettesoffthebeatentraktravel

    January 4, 2010 at 13:21

    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=23229831913&ref=mf

    Where you will be going is in the same valley as the orphanage..
    Amazing 🙂 !!!

    I have posted some pix on their facebook….and provided the link above..:)

    I will put your mission for Harvest Hands in my prayers… too…

    My facebook name is Mrs.ColetteBert if you would like to add me…I will do the same … happy day in Christ Jesus…<3

     

Leave a Reply

 
