RSS

Bittersweet?

28 Nov

So, when I wrote yesterday’s post saying that my novel was done, I didn’t mean it.  I said “done” meaning that I reached my goal of writing 50,000 words in a month, but I didn’t mean it was officially done.  There was and is very much work that has yet to be done in order for me to say that my novel is complete.

For one thing, I had to actually finish writing the story.  Just reaching 50,000 wasn’t enough–there was still more to be written.  So I finished this morning.  The ending sort of wrote itself, and it was really cool.  I was thinking of writing an epilogue or a resolution of sorts, but I decided against it because the ending was just SO GOOD that I wanted to let it be.  Also, I left it open for a sequel!  (Now this doesn’t mean that I WILL write a sequel, but just keep in mind that it’s a possibility.  I’ll see how I feel when I’ve recovered from this whole ordeal.)  But the ending of the last chapter was just so good that I couldn’t bear to add anything to it.

I cried when I wrote the sad parts of my book, and I laughed when I wrote the funny parts, and I shivered when I wrote the emotional, thought-provoking parts.  This novel became very much a part of who I am, and I love it to death.  It will give its readers some insight into my thoughts and feelings, and I hope that who I am will be very obvious in the pages of the story.

I also cried when I wrote the last word.  I’ll miss it.  My little baby novel is all grown up, and now I have an empty nest.  😦  It’s a bittersweet feeling because, although I am SO PROUD and HAPPY that I accomplished this feat, I am also very sad that it’s over.  I had fun doing it and I can’t wait to do it all again next November!

I think it’s so funny (strange-funny, not ha-ha-funny) that my characters became their own people during the writing of this book.  It’s so odd that even though I’m the one who created the characters, they somehow became people I didn’t know they were.  I mean, I could make them do WHATEVER I want them to do, and yet they never cease to surprise me.  Sophie, for example, really came out of her shell during the course of her story, and I hadn’t expected that from her.  And Alejandro, a happy-go-lucky, carefree young man, surprised me by evolving into an introspective, thoughtful, sensitive person that I didn’t know he was capable of being.  At one point in the story, he was even driven to the point of being suicidal, which I NEVER expected from him!

You’re probably thinking I’m a freak, falling in love with fictitious people who are nothing more than figments of my imagination.  But I say, think whatever you like.  They’re my characters and I love them and nothing can change that.  They’re amazing people and I can’t wait for you to meet them!

So now that the fun part of writing the novel is over, I get to do the dirty work.  I get to clean up after it and pick up the pieces.  Tie up the loose ends.  Make it suitable reading material that may or may not end up being published and sold one day.  I’m hoping to send it in by February to get a proof copy, and let me tell you it will feel so good to hold it in my hands!

I don’t know what I’ll do with it when it’s done.  I may publish it and sell it all over the place, or I may only print one copy and simply pass it around among my friends and family.  I don’t know.  But keep your eyes open in case my novel makes it to a bookstore near you!!  🙂

PURA VIDA

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 28, 2009 in NaNoWriMo 2009, Writing

 

One response to “Bittersweet?

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    November 28, 2009 at 22:35

    I think you’ll have fun with the editing part, too, Shannon. You had to write very quickly during the month of November to reach your goal. Now you can go back and savor your novel, enjoying it slowly and reliving your memories that go along with the story. I can’t way it enough–I’m proud of you and I can’t wait to see what comes next, my dear one!

     

Leave a Reply

 
