RSS

I’ve done it? I’ve done it!

27 Nov

I WROTE A NOVEL IN A MONTH.

Yes, a 189-page novel in 30 days.  Well, actually it’s not even done yet, but I met my goal of 50,000 words so all I need to do is tie up the ending and find a good stopping point.  And then there’s the editing, the revisions, and all that boring stuff that has to come along with writing a book…but I’ll worry about that later.

I didn’t think it was possible.  Just writing a novel in itself was enough of a feat, but doing it in a month?  Impossible.

Wrong.  It was more than possible–it was easy!  I passed with flying colors!  Out of the 170,000 people who tried to do it, I was one of the select few who succeeded.

I’m only fourteen years old.  I have to juggle school, church, friends, family, hobbies, chores, obligations, commitments.  And yet through it all I found the time to write a novel.

Now, I’m not writing this so I can show off or brag or rub it in anyone’s face; rather, I’m writing this so that the people who think they’re just ordinary will realize that they are capable of surpassing their own expectations.

Set your goals high.  Push yourself to the limit.  Try something you never thought you could do.  And then you’ll discover that you’re amazing.  You’ll meet a person inside of you that you never knew existed.  And even if you don’t succeed, you’ll have given it your all and you’ll be stronger because of it.

And actually, I lied.  I said I wasn’t trying to show off…but maybe I am.  Just a little bit 🙂 I mean come on, I wrote a novel in a month!  Haha…sorry.  I’m done bragging now; I’ll get back to my motivational speech.

Anyway, the moral of this post is that you’re capable of so much more than you give yourself credit for.  Go give something a try and be happily surprised when you succeed!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 27, 2009 in NaNoWriMo 2009, Writing

 

One response to “I’ve done it? I’ve done it!

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    November 27, 2009 at 22:20

    I knew you could do it, Shannon! I am so very proud of the young lady you have become and are still becoming. I love the lessons that God is teaching you and I thank Him often for you and your faith in Him. I love that you’ve discovered that you ARE AMAZING! I’ve known it all along–I was just waiting for you to realize it, too. And I’m glad you’ve blogged about it so that you can go back and remember this feeling over and over…

    I cannot wait to see where God takes you next, my sweet Shanni-girl!! You are one awesome daughter!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
