RSS

NaNoWriMo

20 Nov

Have you ever heard of NaNoWriMo?  It’s short for National Novel Writing Month.  And the goal for the month of November is to write a novel in a month (surprise).

That’s 50,000 words in 30 days.  It’s 20 days into it, and so far I’m ahead of schedule with 42,549 words.  Writing a novel in a month is no easy task, though!  We novel-writers like to get together on the internet and complain to each other about how hard it is.  We also like to brag about out word counts and give each other advice, which is a lot of fun.  To see what I’m talking about, go to www.nanowrimo.org.

But that’s not what I wrote to say.  I wrote to say that my novel (tentatively entitled “Pura Vida,” please tell me that’s not cliche) takes place in none other than the best place in the world–Los Anonos, Costa Rica!  Writing about it has really brought back memories of my trips to Costa Rica, and I’m having fun writing down every detail I can remember.

I’m also attempting to write a Bible Study for missions, which doesn’t have a name yet, but it’s coming along nicely.

You can expect to see updates and excerpts of both my novel and the Bible study–I’ll post them soon, so check back later to see how they’re coming.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 20, 2009 in NaNoWriMo 2009, Writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “NaNoWriMo

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    November 22, 2009 at 23:20

    Can’t wait to read both the novel and the missions journal. So very proud of you, Shanni-girl!

     

Leave a Reply

 
