RSS

Day 2

02 Aug

Day 2 has been the best yet, and it’s only 2:30 Costa Rica time!  I can’t wait to see what’s going to fill the rest of the day.

We hiked a HUGE mountain today with a group of Costa Rican youth (a.k.a. Ticos) and it was tons of fun.  Hard, yes, and by the time we finished I felt like my knees would give out, but it really was fun.  We hiked all the way to the top where there is a cross that is taller than all of the trees, so huge I couldn’t believe it.  We had a worship time up there and we prayed and sang, and it really was just so moving, so touching, I wouldn’t have missed it for anything.  It’s a beautiful sight to see the Ticos helping each other and praying together.  I made a necklace and gave it to one of them and he put it on right away, and it made me happy to see him smile bacause later on when we were praying I could tell that things were rough for him.  So I’m glad I had the opportunity to sit by him on the bus up to the base of the mountain and to give him that necklace.  Little things really can make a big difference.  

And then, on the bus ride home I sat with some different Ticos and we had a backseat ‘baptism’ by pouring water all over each other, and when we got out of the bus the people in the 2 back rows were all soaked!  I love the Ticos, they are really sweet people even though I can’t understand half of what they’re saying!  I feel so at home here with them, even the ones I have never met.  They are just so welcoming, so fun to be around, that they seem to draw people in effortlessly.  I wish I could be like that.  They are such an example to me.

Well, I’m about to wrap up here and get ready for church tonight, because I really need to rest my tired feet (coming down the mountain my knees were shaking and I fell like 6 times, haha)  and maybe play the guitar some before dinner.  By the way the food here is SO GOOD.

But I want to say one more thing before I go–I’ve been telling everyone that every time I come here it’s better and better, and that is certainly true for this year!!  Thank you, everybody who made this possible.  I just can’t say it enough times and please don’t get tired of me thanking you over and over!  🙂  The people who donated money to cover the plane and lodging, the people who are here with me and working alongside me in this community, the poeple who are faithfully praying and encouraging me from Virginia (I love you guys), and last but certainly NOT least I thank God for binding us all together in his love.  Because every person makes a difference, and no matter how small a part they think they’ve played it’s still a big deal to me.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 2, 2009 in Costa Rica August 2009

 

One response to “Day 2

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    August 3, 2009 at 02:10

    Shannon, I just don’t quite know what to say. I continue to be amazed by your writing, but even more than that I am amazed at the work God is doing in your life. I cannot stop praising God for your life and for your faith in Him! Can’t wait to read more and more of your experiences in Costa Rica. Love you much!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
