RSS

Faith and Fear

28 Jul

Going Under, by This Beautiful Republic–

“There’s uncertainty with every choice, but faith and fear are mutually exclusive.  His assurance will bring our confidence, and that confidence will bring you home.”

Faith and Fear are mutually exclusive. 

It took me a bit to realize just what that statement means.  Sure, it sounds cool and poetic, but it has a deeper purpose than just to complete the song.  You can’t have faith and fear at the same time.  If you have fear, then it pushes out all traces of faith that you may have had.  Likewise, if you have faith, even the size of a mustard seed, fear has no place in your heart.

I’m leaving for my trip in 3 days.  Naturally, my first inclination is to feel some amount of fear.  After all, I’m getting ready to leave my home, friends and family, and everything familiar so that I can go somewhere far away where no one even speaks my language.

But I’m not going to let that fear hinder me in any way.  Instead, I’m going to seek God’s perfect will for my trip, having faith that God has everything planned out, and keeping in mind the fact that this experience will test and strengthen my faith.

Proverbs 28:20 says that “A faithful man will be richly blessed…”  That sounds pretty good to me. 

You can’t have it both ways, so which will you choose–Faith, or fear?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 28, 2009 in Costa Rica August 2009

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Faith and Fear

  1. Lisa DeCourcey

    August 2, 2009 at 03:02

    Love this one, Sweetie! So thankful for what God is showing you and doing in your life and through your life! You rock!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
